Student Senate

Student Senate is the primary means for student participation in the governance of the Luther College community.

Our mission is to serve Luther students and student organizations by providing them with resources to achieve their goals and to connect faith with learning and service with responsibility.

To me, Senate is one of the best ways a student can try to give back to the Luther Community! It helped me feel connected to our campus in a deeper and more meaningful way. I loved that the people working on Senate all wanted to make Luther a better place for everyone

Maddy Lomprey '22
Former Luther College Student Senate President

Student Senate is Luther College’s student government organization. The Senate consists of twenty-seven student representatives elected each spring, with the addition of three first-year representatives elected in the fall. As always, feel free to email Student Senate if you have any questions, comments, or concerns.

Leadership Team

Max Holt

Salomé Valdivieso Santillán

Evelyn Montoya

Ben Houri

Executive Board

Max Holt
President, Student Leadership and Student Life Chair

Salomé Valdivieso Santillán
Vice-President and Betterment Chair

Evelyn Montoya
Secretary and Communications Chair

Ben Houri
Treasurer and Finance Chair

First Year Representatives

Brandt Hall Representative: Daniel Nnodim

Brandt Hall Representative: Resana Zayan

Ylvisaker Hall Representative: Makenzie Dahlstrom

Sophomore Representatives

Junita Sangare

Montserrat Mainou

Junior Representatives

Natalie Neff

Sophie Bierlein

Senior Representatives

Christina Dressler

Ethan Bellendier

Aidan Schooling

Diversity Representative for Race & Ethnicity

Kiley Nolan

Xavier Andrade

Diversity Representative for Culture & Religion

Solvei Christopherson

Diversity Representatives for Gender and Sexuality

Hannah Roesler

Mckinley Leinweber

Appointed Positions

ISAA Student Representative: Jaraad Ahmed

Wellness Representative: Sidney Miller

Sustainability Representative: Sydney Frank

Student Support Representative/LDA President: Jadyn Gasper

Inter-Greek Council Representative: Hannah McCarthy

Student Activities Council President: Marin Leone

Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Representative: Lexi Hastings

Council for Faith and Life Representative: Kjerstin Halverson

This powerful document includes the rules by which Student Senate operates, groups represented on Senate through designated representative, what their duties are to the student body, and more information detailing the nuts and bolts of Senate. Check this out if you’re interested in learning how our organization is composed and discover the extent of our influence on life at Luther.

Current Student Senate Constitution

Current Student Senate Bylaws

I am a Luther Norse.

I am a citizen of the world.
I am inclusive and compassionate to all.
We value and recognize all faiths.
We are a diverse Community.

I engage in learning beyond my interests
I display integrity through my actions.
We hold ourselves and each other accountable.
We project Leadership.

I am determined to make the world sustainable.
I possess an open mind.
We show reverence for individuals.
We demonstrate Respect.

We are learning to be well rounded people.
We are becoming more.
We Are Luther.

—Adopted by Student Senate, Spring 2018


Funding requests have been divided into three different categories: (1) Funding for Organizational Continuity, (2) Funding for On-Campus Events and Activities, and (3) Funding for Conferences and Other Off-Campus Activities. Our first priority when looking at requests will be those requests that allow student organizations to operate. A close second priority is helping organizations provide events and activities to the Luther community. Third, will be allowing organizations attend conferences and other off-campus events that further their goals and mission.

When applying for funding, we ask that organizations consider the mission and values of Luther College. Please also ensure that requests are appropriate and will not violate any rules or expectations set by the college.

The Finance Committee would especially like to call your attention to the criteria by which we are evaluating proposals so organizations can keep this in mind when they are working on their applications. Here is a link to the criteria. Finally, the online application is available. All applications must be received by Wednesday, Oct 4th midnight. Once the application’s submissions are done, leaders will be invited for a mandatory interview. After the Finance Committee review all the applications, organization leaders will receive an email decision informing them the amount of allocated funds.

Other Resources

The Student Senate Election Guidelines and Application is designed to facilitate fair and consistent Student Senate elections each year. The guidelines are not exhaustive; instead they provide the general framework for the annual Student Senate elections process.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to serve Luther students and student organizations by providing them with resources to achieve their goals, and to support the wider college community as it fulfills its mission.


The Senate shall be comprised of the following student members who are responsible for carrying out their duties as defined in the bylaws:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Senior Class Representatives (3)
  • Junior Class Representatives (3)
  • Sophomore Class Representatives (3)
  • Freshman Class Representatives (3)
  • Diversity Representatives (6)
  • Student Liaison to the Decorah City Council

Appointed Positions

  • Student Activities Council President
  • Luther Congregation President
  • ISAA Representative
  • Inter-Greek Council
  • Wellness Representative
  • Sustainability Representative
  • Student Support Representative
  • Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Representative

First Year Student Senate Application Form

Student Activities

Jenna Mockler-Gjerde
Director of Student Activities
Dahl Centennial Union 106

Phone: 563-387-1567