Luther students Camacho and Kiehne awarded the Karen Julesberg Scholarship

Luther College students Samuel Camacho, Joy Hundorf and Elayna Kiehne have each received a Karen Julesberg Scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year.

June 13, 2019

Luther College’s Janet Irankunda of Coon Rapids, Minnesota, received the college’s Jenson Medal during the Commencement ceremonies for the Luther class of 2019.

June 13, 2019

Luther College named 2016 Hiden Gem college in Iowa.

May 28, 2019

Luther College junior Anne Wilson of Zumbrota, Minnesota, is the 2019 recipient of the $1,250 Lucille Stansberry Rosholt Award for Distinction in Accompanying and Collaborative Keyboard Performance.

May 17, 2019

Luther College senior Joram Mutenge was announced the winner of the Erdman Prize for Entrepreneurship after “Pitch Off” competition Friday, May 10, in Marty’s, located in Luther’s Dahl Centennial Union.

May 15, 2019

Luther College professor of religion, Guy Nave, has been selected from a national pool of nominees to participate in a week-long faculty seminar on the teaching of interfaith understanding. The seminar will take place June 16-20 at DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois.

May 13, 2019

Five Luther College students have each received a $1,000 Steven Mark Anderson Scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year. Recipients of the scholarship were announced during the Luther College TRIO Celebration Banquet on April 10. Recipients include Emmy Buntrock, Taehjona Hodges, Julia Lieb, Viola Niyizigama and Grace Weinrich.

The Steven Mark Anderson Scholarship benefits Luther students involved in the TRIO Achievement Program. TRIO provides “holistic, individualized support and comprehensive programming that promotes students’ academic success, personal development and sense of community.” The federally funded program has been sponsored by Luther for over 45 years and serves approximately 185 students annually.

May 8, 2019

Luther College senior Marta Williams of Woodbury, Minnesota, and alumnus Ethan Taylor ’16 of Fergus Falls, Minnesota, have been selected to receive Fulbright Awards for the 2019-20 academic year on the basis of academic and professional achievement as well as their record of service and leadership potential in their respective fields.

May 7, 2019

Olga Rinco Michels, Luther College professor of chemistry, was awarded the Ashford Fellowship from the American Chemical Society’s Exam Institute to collaborate on organic chemistry pedagogical projects during her 2019-20 sabbatical.

May 6, 2019

Luther College junior Colin Weber of Rochester, Minnesota, has been awarded a $5,000 Rossing Physics Scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year. The Rossing scholarship is awarded annually to physics students of exceptional merit through the Thomas D. Rossing Fund for Physics Education.

April 4, 2019