Heritage Club

Gift Amount

Established in 1978, the Luther College Heritage Club is an informal organization for those persons who have been moved by their interest in Luther to make provisions for future gifts to the college. The Heritage Club is a way for donors with this common interest to meet one another, share their interest in Luther, and perhaps find other shared interests.

The Heritage Club is also a symbol and an inspiration. Because planned gifts are so vitally important to the future of Luther College, and because membership in the club is only for those persons who have made planned gifts, the Heritage Club is a symbol of the importance Luther places on this kind of commitment. It also serves as an inspiration for others to make similar gifts and join this important group. The Heritage Club is one way Luther says “thank you” to all those who have made the college a part of their future. We are extremely grateful for your support and dedication.

Heritage Club Membership

A full list of Heritage Club members can be found at HeritageClub.pdf.

New Heritage Club Members 2020-21

Kenneth '73 and Diana Abraham
Julie (Jensen) '98 and Thomas Assel
Robert '70 and Karen (Strum) Bear '70
Serina Norvold Bentley '94
Heidi (Murken) '02 and Brian Borkenhagen
Daryl and Norma Bosma
Karen (Wilken) Braun '85 and Kevin Kelley
Dennis '80 and Linda Bushkofsky
Larry '67 and Betty (Johnson) Danielson '68
Larry Freeze
Gary Gilderhus '74
Robert '69 and Terri (Skoug) Heins '70
Carol Johnson '72
Glen '70 and Kathy (Selzer) Johnson '71
Michael '89 and Julie Kinsel
Wallace Klandrud '51
Joseph Lippincott and Ruth Bale Lippincott
Richard '72 and Marcia Lund
Alan '61 and Linda Nordhem
David Olson '76
Jessica Paul
Eileen Rossow
Jon Schroeder '76
Susan Sihler '60
Burnell Smith
Stephen Sporer
Leif '93 and Lisen (Nylander) Stoa '96
Joseph Sweet '86 and Blaire Hartley
Sarah Wente '01 and Jeremy Kuker
Douglas Winkey '12

Heritage Club Members Making Additional Planned Gifts 2020-21

Paul Blackman
Richard '64 and Joann (Harr) Hemp '65
Thomas '62 and Phyllis Jacobson
Helen (Legler) Kneubuhler '59
William '70 and Carolyn (Peterson) Kobler '70
Dick Meade

In Memoriam

We have been notified of the passing of the following Heritage Club members. We extend our sympathies to their families and friends. We are grateful for their dedication and legacies to Luther College:

Nellie Arneson
Donald Berg '56
Jane Bullard
R. Eric Carlson '61
Gordon Christianson '49
Ralph Colrud '49
William Davis '62
Marc Dettmann '73
J Bruce Goetsch '62
Layne Haugen '59
Ruth Hovden
Kay Johnson
Dennis Johnson
Mary Hull Mohr
Bjorn Monson '64
Janelle (Johnson) Nevermann '58
Frieda (Mindrum) Nowland '54
Gary Olson '61
Curtis Reiso '54
Kletus '51 and Lois Rood
Robert Rosholt '51
Marlyn Schroeder
Carl Teisberg '50
George Trytten '51

(June 1, 2020, through April 5, 2021)

Pioneer Memorial

Pioneer Memorial Award

The Pioneer Memorial was built to honor the Norwegian pioneers who had the vision to establish Luther College and the determination and strength to build it. This stone memorial was erected on campus in 1936 by alumni and friends for Luther’s Diamond Jubilee. Also honored on the large pillar at the front of the Pioneer Memorial is Laur Larsen, one of the principal leaders during the college’s first 50 years. Because of the significance of the Pioneer Memorial to the history of the college, it was chosen as the symbol for the Luther College Heritage Club.

The Pioneer Memorial Award was established in May 1988 to recognize those individuals whose vision and commitment have moved them to provide for Luther College’s long-range needs through planned gifts. The award honors individuals who have characterized the spirit of the Heritage Club and have served to inspire others through their generous support. Just like Laur Larsen and other early leaders of the college, recipients of this award have been judged to have the vision of continued success for Luther College.

The 2020 Pioneer Memorial Award recipient is Ruth Fjelstad, click to read citation. A full list of Pioneer Memorial Award recipients can be found at PioneerMemorialAward.pdf.