2025-26 Academic Calendar (tentative)

This calendar is tentative and is subject to change. 

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

Fall Semester 2025

Wednesday, August 20 – Friday, August 22
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 28 – Friday, August 29
Faculty days
Saturday, August 30
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 30 – Tuesday, September 2
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 31
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, September 3
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 12
Last day to add or drop (without a "W") full semester classes
TBD
Family Weekend
TBD
Homecoming
Friday, October 17
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 18 – Wednesday, October 22
Fall vacation
Friday, October 31
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Wednesday, November 26 – Sunday, November 30
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 4 – Sunday, December 7
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 12
Last day of classes
Monday, December 15 – Thursday, December 18
Final examinations

January Term 2026

Monday, January 5
Classes begin
Wednesday, January 28
End of term

Spring Semester 2026

Wednesday, February 4
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 13
Last day to add or drop (without a "W") full semester classes
Friday, March 20
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 21 – Sunday, March 29
Spring vacation
Tuesday, April 9
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with"W"
Friday, April 3- Monday, April 6
Easter vacation
Friday, May 8
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Friday, May 15
Last day of classes
Monday, May 18 – Thursday, May 21
Final examinations
Sunday, May 24
Commencement

Summer 2026

Monday, June 1
Summer session I and Summer Term begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 26
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 29
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 24
Summer session II ends
Friday, August 21
Summer Term ends