2022-23 Academic Calendar

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

Fall Semester 2022

Wednesday, August 17 – Friday, August 19
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 25 – Friday, August 26
Faculty days
Saturday, August 27
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 27 – Tuesday, August 30
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 28 - Tuesday, August 30
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 31
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 9
Last day to add or drop full semester classes
Friday, September 23 - Sunday, September 25
Family Weekend
Friday, October 7 - Sunday, October 9
Homecoming
Friday, October 14
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 15 – Wednesday, October 19
Fall vacation
Friday, October 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 1 – Sunday, December 4
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 9
Last day of classes
Monday, December 12 – Thursday, December 15
Final examinations

January Term 2023

Tuesday, January 3
Classes begin
Thursday, January 26
End of term

Spring Semester 2023

Wednesday, February 1
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 10
Last day to add or drop full semester classes
Friday, March 17
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 18 – Sunday, March 26
Spring vacation
Tuesday, April 4
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with"W"
Friday, April 7 - Monday, April 10
Easter vacation
Friday, May 5
Learning @ Luther Showcase (no classes)
Friday, May 12
Last day of classes
Monday, May 15 – Thursday, May 18
Final examinations
Sunday, May 21
Commencement

Summer 2023

Tuesday, May 30
Summer session I and Summer Term begins
June
New student registration
Friday, June 23
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 26
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 21
Summer session II ends
Friday, August 18
Summer Term ends