2022-23 Academic Calendar (tentative)

This calendar is tentative and is subject to change. 

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

Fall Semester 2022

Monday, August 22 – Friday, August 26
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 25 – Friday, August 26
Faculty days
Saturday, August 27
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 27 – Tuesday, August 30
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 28 - Tuesday, August 30
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 31
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 9
Last day to add full semester classes
TBD
Family Weekend
Tuesday, September 27
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
TBD
Homecoming
Friday, October 14
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 15 – Wednesday, October 19
Fall vacation
Friday, October 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Monday, November 21
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 1 – Sunday, December 4
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 9
Last day of classes
Monday, December 12 – Thursday, December 15
Final examinations

January Term 2023

Tuesday, January 3
Classes begin
Thursday, January 26
End of term

Spring Semester 2023

Wednesday, February 1
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 10
Last day to add full semester classes
Tuesday, February 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 17
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 18 – Sunday, March 26
Spring vacation
Tuesday, April 4
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with"W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Friday, April 7 - Monday, April 10
Easter vacation
Monday, April 24
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Friday, May 5
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Friday, May 12
Last day of classes
Monday, May 15 – Thursday, May 18
Final examinations
Sunday, May 21
Commencement

Summer 2023

Tuesday, May 30
Summer session I begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 23
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 26
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 21
Summer session II ends