President's Council

Gift Amount

The President's Council giving society recognizes those who make gifts of $1,500 or more in a calendar year to any designation (and gifts of $750 or more for First Decade Society members, alumni in their first decade after graduation). Planned gifts qualify donors for President's Council membership for one year. Members are invited to the President's Council event in the spring, and a givers list, the President's Council Honor Roll, is published each year on Luther's website.

President's Council donors are recognized annually through the following levels:

Amount Recognition
$50,000 or more President's Executive Cabinet
$25,000 to $49,999 President's Associates
$10,000 to $24,999 President's Academy
$5,000 to $9,999 President's Affiliates
$1,500 to $4,999 President's Society
$750 or more First Decade Society

Life Membership

Life membership in the President’s Council honors those donors whose cumulative outright gifts total $100,000 or more, those who have established irrevocable planned gifts with remainder interest present values of $100,000 or more, those who have made irrevocable gifts of life insurance policies with cash values of $100,000 or more, or those who have contributed combinations thereof.

New life members are recognized at the President's Council event each year. Life members are further recognized as members of the President's Circle at the following levels:

Amount Recognition
$5,000,000 or more Farwell Circle
$1,000,000 to $4,999,999 Larsen Circle
$500,000 to $999,999 Preus Circle
$250,000 to $499,999 Olson Circle
$100,000 to $249,999 Ylvisaker Circle

The President’s Circle commemorates these presidents of Luther College: Peter Laurentius (Laur.) Larsen, served 1861– 1902; Christian Keyser Preus, 1902–21; Oscar Ludvig Olson, 1921–32; Ove J. H. Preus, 1932–48; J.Wilhelm Ylvisaker, 1948–62; and Elwin D. Farwell, 1963–81.


Thank you!