2023-24 Academic Calendar (tentative)

This calendar is tentative and subject to change.

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

Fall Semester 2023

Monday, August 21 – Friday, August 25
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 24 – Friday, August 25
Faculty days
Saturday, August 26
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 26 – Tuesday, August 29
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 27 - Tuesday, August 29
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 30
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 8
Last day to add full semester classes
TBD
Family Weekend
Tuesday, September 26
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
TBD
Homecoming
Friday, October 13
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 14 – Wednesday, October 18
Fall vacation
Friday, October 27
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Monday, November 20
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Wednesday, November 22 – Sunday, November 26
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, November 30 – Sunday, December 3
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 8
Last day of classes
Monday, December 11 – Thursday, December 14
Final examinations

January Term 2024

Wednesday, January 3
Classes begin
Friday, January 26
End of term

Spring Semester 2024

Thursday, February 1
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 9
Last day to add full semester classes
Wednesday, February 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 15
End of first half of semester
Thursday, March 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with "W" and last day to drop Senior Projects without record
Friday, March 29 – Sunday, April 7
Spring/Easter vacation
Monday, April 22
Last day to withdraw from Senior Projects with a "W"
Friday, May 3
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Friday, May 10
Last day of classes
Monday, May 13 – Thursday, May 16
Final examinations
Sunday, May 19
Commencement

Summer 2024

Monday, June 3
Summer session I begins/Summer term begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 28
Summer session I ends
Monday, July 1
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 26
Summer session II ends
Friday, August 23
Summer term ends