Luther collaborative pianists featured in Rosholt Scholarship recital on May 4

Luther College is hosting the Lucille Stansberry Rosholt Distinction in Accompanying and Collaborative Keyboard Performance Scholarship recital at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, May 4, in the Noble Recital Hall in Luther's Jenson-Noble Hall of Music.

The recital, award ceremony and reception to follow are open to the public with no charge for admission.

The recital features performances by Luther pianists Shana Liu '21, and Anne Wilson '20. Each finalist will perform a program of instrumental and vocal music that demonstrates his or her collaborative skills for the $1,250 scholarship award. The following collaborators are to join Liu and Wilson for their sets: Matthew Dosland '19, cello; Mitchell Gage '19, baritone; Kiley Korey '20, mezzo soprano; Grace Simpson '19, soprano; Joshua Vidervol '19, baritone; and Anton Wachmann '19, cello.

The competition's guest adjudicator is Korey Barrett, University of Northern Iowa associate professor of vocal coaching and collaborative piano. The panel of judges includes Luther faculty Heather Armstrong, associate professor of music, and Evan Mitchell '14, alumni guest lecturer in music.

The Distinction in Accompanying and Collaborative Keyboard Performance Scholarship was established for the purpose of recognizing and encouraging a high level of achievement in the collaborative arts.

Luther is home to one of the largest collegiate music programs in the world with five choirs, three bands, three orchestras, two jazz bands and nearly 800 student musicians. Luther students participate in large ensembles, faculty-coached chamber groups, private lessons and master classes. More than 275 music majors study music theory, ear training, history, education, composition, jazz, church music and performance.

Shana Liu
Anne Wilson