Luther College Music Department presents 'The Gondoliers'

Featuring a cast of 35 talented students, "The Gondoliers" by Gilbert and Sullivan will be presented by the Luther College Music Department at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, May 4, Friday, May 5, and Saturday, May 6, and 2 p.m. Sunday, May 7, in the Jewel Theatre of the Center for the Arts on the Luther campus.

Tickets, which are $15 for adults and $8 for children 12 and under, can be purchased online at or via the Luther Ticket Office, (563) 387-1357 or [email protected]. Ticket Office hours are Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 9 a.m.-10:30 a.m. and 11 a.m.-3 p.m.; Tuesday 9 a.m.-3 p.m.; with extended hours on Thursdays, 9 a.m.-7 p.m. Remaining tickets will be sold at the door one hour prior to performances.

"The Gondoliers" follows a tale of royalty, marriage and misadventure. As a confused family attempts to solidify its economic future, two modest gondoliers unsuspectingly ascend the throne of Barataria. Additionally, they discover that one of the two has a long-lost betrothed, but neither knows which one of them is to be married to her.

The principal roles in "The Gondoliers" are double-cast, with students performing either Thursday and Saturday or Friday and Sunday.

Seniors Brandon Whitish and Avery Mossman sing the role of the Duke of Plaza-Toro; seniors Kaitlyn York and Christy Emanuelson sing the role of the Duchess of Plaza-Toro; seniors Hannah Leeper and Jaime Webb sing the role of Casilda; sophomore Parker Fretheim and junior Aaron Shouse sing the role of Luiz; junior Isaiah Cammon and senior Grant Holsinger sing Don Alhambra; senior Max Rooney and sophomore Mason Montuoro sing Marco; junior Josh Vidervol and sophomore Mitchell Gage sing Giuseppe; junior Emily Dirks and sophomore Katie Stuelke sing the role of Gianetta; juniors Natalie Rumer and Aidan Spencer sing the role of Tessa.

Emily Dirks is the recipient of the 2017 Alan R. and Sally J. Brudos Family Prize for Opera Performance; Natalie Rumer is the 2017 recipient of the David Greedy Memorial Scholarship. Hannah Leeper is the first recipient of the newly established Darlene (Peterson) Jones and Robert Jones Scholarship, and the 2016 recipient of the David Greedy Memorial Scholarship.

Ensemble and supporting roles include senior Emily Chlapik; juniors, Libby Fischer, Scott Kleeman, Gabrielle Laske, Kelvin Li, Marie Sauze; sophomores Nathan Baldwin, Becca Buse, Xavier Conzet, Mayalyn Cott, Kia Feia Alijah Goetting, Steven Holkesvik, Melissa Kirby, Zane Larson and Noah Lauer.

The performance will be conducted and accompanied by Nicholas Shaneyfelt, Luther visiting assistant professor of music. Stage direction is by Andrew Whitfield, Luther associate professor of music, and musical direction and preparation is by Edwin Andereck, Luther professor of music. Scenic design is by Jeff Dintaman, Luther professor of theatre; lighting design and technical direction is by Tom Berger, Luther theatre and dance technical director. Luther Professor of Dance Jane Hawley choreographed the famous "Cachucha" dance, and Decorah resident Donalee Burns is the costumer. Jill Phillips, Luther alumni guest lecturer in music, is the assistant stage director, and Luther student Elaena Hoekstra is the stage manager.

Luther is home to one of the largest collegiate music programs in the nation, with six choirs, three orchestras, three bands, two jazz bands and more than 800 student musicians. Luther students participate in large ensembles, faculty-coached chamber groups, private lessons and master classes. Nearly 275 music majors study music theory, ear training, history, education, composition, jazz, church music and performance.