Board of Regents


  • Wendy (Jaycox) Davidson ‘92, Chicago, Ill.

Vice Chairperson

  • J. Robert Paulson '78, Medina, Minn.


  • Susan Sorlien '73, Bonita Springs, Fla.


  • Eric Runestad, Luther College vice president for finance and administration

President of the College

  • Jenifer K. Ward


Jeffrey Anderson '84 (2019)
Partner and shareholder, Associated Anesthesiologists, P.C.; Anesthesiologist, Unity Point Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines, Iowa  

Ann Bentdahl '85 (2021)
Retired, President and CEO, Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation, Edina, Minn.

Michael Burk (2021)
Bishop, Southeastern Iowa Synod of the ELCA, Iowa City, Iowa

Wendy (Jaycox) Davidson '92 (2019)
President, U.S. Specialty Channels Division, Kellogg Co., Chicago, Ill.

Shannon (Miller) Duval '95 (2022)
President and Chief Development Officer, Catholic Health Initiatives National Foundation, Castle Rock, Colo.

Peter Espinosa '81 (2021)
Founder, chairman of Pulpit Rock Brewing Company, and owner of BottleTree Properties, Edina, Minn., and Decorah, Iowa

Dennis Flatness '68 (2020)
President and CEO, USI Midwest (formerly WFL), St. Louis, Mo.

Chris Gade '86 (2022)
Chair, Department of Public Affairs Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

Allen Green '76 (2020)
Dean of Equity and Inclusion, Sarah Lawrence College, Bronxville, NY

Katherine Johnson-Becklin (2021)
Educational consultant, gifted and talented specialist, Monona, Wis.

Sandee Joppa '87 (2019)
Human resources coach/counselor, Joppa Consulting, LLC, Plymouth, Minn.  

David "Chip" Norris '82 (2022)
Group president, Alerus Financial Corporation, Champlin, Minn.

Michael T. Osterholm '75 (2020)
Regents Professor and Director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn. 

J. Robert Paulson, Jr. '78  (2021)
President, CEO, and Director, NxThera, Inc., Maple Grove, Minn.

Connie Plaehn '75  (2022)
Retired, Managing Director, JPMorgan Asset Management, New York, NY

Anjela Shutts '93  (2022)
Partner/attorney, Whitfield & Eddy, PLC, Des Moines, Iowa

Arne M. Sorenson '80  (2020)
President, Chief Executive Officer, Marriott International, Inc., Washington, D.C.

Susan K. Sorlien '73  (2022)
Retired, President, Dealer Store Division, Sears Corporation, Bonita Springs, Fla.

Jon M. Stellmacher (2019)
Retired, Senior Vice President, Chief of Staff and Administration, Thrivent Financial, Appleton, Wis.

James A. Thomsen '86  (2021)
President, Thrivent Financial Holdings, Minneapolis, Minn.

Diane Thormodsgard '72 (2022)
Retired, Vice Chairman, Wealth Management & Securities Services, U.S. Bancorp, Bonita Springs, Fla.

Paul M. Torgerson '73 (2019)
Senior Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer, and General Counsel, HealthEast Care System, St. Paul, Minn.

Chinyere Ukabiala (2020)
College Ombudsperson, Grinnell College, Urbandale, Iowa

Lance Vander Linden '79 (2020)
Chairman, National Bankruptcy Services; Of Counsel, Brice, Vander Linden & Wernick, P.C., Dallas, Texas

Judy Vijums '88 (2019)
Managing Director, HCI Equity Partners, Minneapolis, Minn.

James Young '81 (2019)
Retired, Chief Financial Officer and Board Member, Ally Financial, Bloomington, Minn. 


The year in parentheses after each name indicates the expiration year of that Regent's current four-year term.