Music ensembles to present Homecoming concert Oct. 4

Sept. 30, 2009

Three Luther College music ensembles will present a Homecoming concert Sunday, Oct. 4, at 1:30 p.m. in the Center for Faith and Life.

The concert is open to the public with no charge for admission.

Performing ensembles include Concert Band, Nordic Choir and Symphony Orchestra.

The Luther College Concert Band is composed of 65 members.  It was one of the nation’s first music organizations to tour nationally and internationally.

The band’s annual performance tours have taken the group coast-to-coast in the continental United States, twice to Hawaii, six times to Europe and three times to Japan and East Asia.  Frederick Nyline, professor of music, conducts the band.

Concert Band will perform “Masquerade” by Vincent Pereschetti and “Humoresque on Swanee” by John Phillip Sousa, arranged by Keith Brion.

Nordic Choir, a 72-voice a cappella ensemble, is the flagship choral ensemble of Luther College.  The choir features 72 mixed voices performing sacred choral works of a variety of periods and styles.  Craig Arnold, professor of music, directs the choir.

Nordic Choir has made numerous national and international concert tours.  The choir has also recorded extensively, releasing at least one CD each year.

One of the top college orchestras in the Midwest, the 85-member Symphony Orchestra tours yearly throughout the United States and maintains a three-week residency in Vienna, Austria, every four years.

In addition to presenting regular concerts featuring the masterworks of orchestral literature, members of the orchestra perform with the Luther College choirs at the annual Christmas at Luther performance. Daniel Baldwin, associate professor of music, conducts the orchestra.

The Luther Orchestra will be performing “Billy the Kid ballet suite” by Aaron Copland and “Dance Episode ‘The Great Lover’ from ‘On the Town’” by Leonard Bernstein.

The event will also include the presentation of the Carlo A. Sperati Award, the Weston H. Noble Award and the Theodore Presser Scholarship.

Frederick Nyline
Daniel Baldwin
Craig Arnold