Luther junior Wilson named the 2019 recipient of the $1,250 Lucille Stansberry Rosholt Award

May 17, 2019

Luther College junior Anne Wilson of Zumbrota, Minnesota, is the 2019 recipient of the $1,250 Lucille Stansberry Rosholt Award for Distinction in Accompanying and Collaborative Keyboard Performance.

Wilson, daughter of Cindy and Dan Wilson of Zumbrota, graduated from Zumbrota-Mazeppa High School in 2016. She plans to graduate from Luther in 2020 with majors in religion and music. She is the student of Xiao Hu, Luther associate professor of music, and Nicholas Shaneyfelt, Luther assistant professor of music.

The 2019 competition included a panel of three adjudicators: Heather Armstrong, Luther associate professor of music; Evan Mitchell ’14, Luther alumni guest lecturer in music; and Korey Barrett, University of Northern Iowa associate professor of vocal coaching and collaborative piano.

The Rosholt Award was established for the purpose of recognizing and encouraging a high level of achievement in the collaborative arts. Two finalists for the award compete in a single recital featuring instrumental and vocal music that demonstrates their collaborative skills for the scholarship award.

Luther is home to one of the largest collegiate music programs in the world with five choirs, three bands, three orchestras, two jazz bands and nearly 800 student musicians. Luther students participate in large ensembles, faculty-coached chamber groups, private lessons and master classes. More than 275 music majors study music theory, ear training, history, education, composition, jazz, church music and performance.