Contact Information

Lydia Slattery
Media Relations Specialist

Phone: 563-387-1417

Luther College students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

The Luther College chapter of Phi Beta Kappa has 37 new members including 36 students and one alumna. On Sunday, April 25, the students and Nancy Jones '69 were inducted into the oldest and most respected undergraduate honors organization in the United States. Members are elected on the basis of broad academic interests, scholarly achievement and good character. The 2021 inductees include seniors: 

Emma Brooks of Wild Rose, Wisconsin 

Kari Jacobson of Irvine, California 

Stephanie Almquist of Delano, Minnesota 

Sydney Lear of Bettendorf, Iowa 

Jacob Barsness of Pine Island, Minnesota

Levi Bird of Muscoda, Wisconsin

Shana Liu of Urbandale, Iowa

Caroline Handley of Rochester, Minnesota

Kyli Kurtenbach of Reedsburg, Wisconsin

Gretchen Blain of Spearfish, South Dakota

Allessandra Rogers of Odin, Minnesota

Soren Gloege Torp of Apple Valley, Minnesota

Aaron Blumberg of South Caulfield, Australia 

Emma Everitt of Madison, Wisconsin

Avery Pazour of Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Hanna Dodd of Coal Valley, Illinois

Anneka Duncan of Benson, Minnesota

David Will of Rochester, Minnesota

Courtney Cooper of Lansing, Iowa

Miquela Teske of Eldora, Iowa 

Laura Duffield of Rochester, Minnesota

Rachael Brolin of Madison, Wisconsin

Isabel Iverson of Decorah, Iowa

Emma Hitz-Kelly of Winona, Minnesota

Nick Lembezeder of Peosta, Iowa 

Ryan Ferguson of Urbandale, Iowa 

Lynzi Stauder of Holmen, Wisconsin

Kayla Gibson of Dubuque, Iowa

Benjamin Seavey of Albert Lea, Minnesota

Elena Pinnow of Denver, Colorado

Steven Johnson of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Carina Hansen of Cedar Falls, Iowa 

And juniors: 

Katie Fetting of Appleton, Wisconsin

Katilynn Swanson of Pine Island, Minnesota

Kyle Brusco of Burnsville, Minnesota 

Emily Lehman of Cedar Falls, Iowa 

The junior members will become student leaders in the organization during their senior year. They will be invited to chapter meetings and encouraged to participate in chapter activities, including the Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar events.

During the induction ceremony, alumna inductee Nancy Jones gave this year's Ruth A. Davis Memorial Lecture to the Zoom audience of Luther College faculty, students, staff and parents. 

"I was very honored to be invited to become an alumna member of Luther's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, a chapter that owes its existence in no small measure to the late professor Mary Lou Mohr, one of the faculty members at Luther who had a profound effect on my life," said Jones. "I would hope, and indeed I assume, that current students just inducted into PBK will also find among their professors one or more who have shaped the quality of their minds and the quality of their character. Such are the gifts that Luther bestows, along with curiosity about the world, a respect for the energizing power of the liberal arts, and a fascination with the life of the mind."

View a recording of the Phi Beta Kappa Induction Ceremony here.

Luther College is one of a select group of private liberal arts colleges in the United States with a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. The society has fostered and recognized excellence in the liberal arts and sciences since 1776 and the society's distinctive emblem, a golden key, is widely recognized as a symbol of academic achievement.

Luther College is home to more than 1,800 undergraduates who explore big questions and take action to benefit people, communities and society. Our 60+ academic programs, experiential approach to learning and welcoming community inspire students to learn actively, live purposefully and lead courageously for a lifetime of impact. Learn more at

Contact Information

Lydia Slattery
Media Relations Specialist

Phone: 563-387-1417