Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

IIAC Individual Tournament

  • Repeats: Every day from September 21, 2012 to September 22, 2012.
  • Date: Saturday, September 22, 2012
  • Time: 9:00 am
  • Location: Home

The Luther College men’s tennis team hosted the Iowa Conference Individual Tournament on Friday, Sept. 21 and Saturday, Sept. 22.  Although bad weather postponed much of the play until Saturday, the Norse came through with several strong performances over the weekend.

Ramesh Karki placed fourth in the A Flight singles bracket, advancing to the semi-finals with wins over Coe’s Michael Janssen (8-1), Wartburg’s Brian Rasmussen (8-2), and Coe’s Ryan Hickman (8-1).  He was finally defeated in the semi-finals by eventual champion Nick Garcia of Dubuque (8-5) and then lost (8-4) to Noah Sprinkel of Coe in the 3rd place match.

Torstein Jystad also put together a solid showing, advancing to the quarterfinal round of the A Flight.  He knocked off Jon Moore of Loras (8-6) in the opening round and then beat Coe’s Zach Decker (8-3). Jystad’s tournament run came to an end with an (8-3) loss to Sprinkel.

James Ayer and Quinn Foley each won a round in the A Flight, tallying wins over Michael Woolf of Coe (8-3) and Eric Hilpert of Wartburg (8-5), respectively.  Ayer lost (8-5) to Sean Stokstad of Coe in the second round while Foley dropped his match by the same score to Jeff Damisch of Coe.

Karki and Foley advanced to the championship match of the A Flight in doubles for the second straight season, losing in the final to Sprinkel and Curtis Newman in a rematch of last year’s title bout.  After falling (8-3) in 2011, Karki and Foley closed the gap, narrowly losing (8-6) this time around. 

Ayer and Nick Mozena qualified for the semi-finals of the A Flight with victories over Rasmussen and Yusuf Chowdry (8-2) and Coe’s Riley Galbraith and Yusushi Inoue (8-4).  They lost (8-2) to Sprinkel and Newman in the semi-finals.

Sam Cychosz and Matt Knutson edged Hickman and Decker (8-6) in the opening match of the A Flight before dropping an (8-6) decision to Weston Adelman and Kyle Freischlag of Central in the second round.

Sean Brown led the way for the Norse in the B Flight singles bracket by advancing to the semi-finals and finishing fourth.  He won matches against Zane Hendricks of Central (9-7), Alex Klaas of Coe (8-5) and Luther teammate Matt Knutson (9-8).  Knutson, Cychosz, and Aaron Ford all made it to the quarterfinals before being eliminated.

Iowa Conference Individual Tournament Results

Questions? Contact David Blanchard, post_to_results, 563-387-1586