Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

Iowa Conference Automatic Qualfier Tournament

  • Repeats: Every day from April 27, 2018 to April 28, 2018.
  • Date: Friday, April 27, 2018
  • Time: All day
  • Location: Home

Luther advanced to the Iowa Conference Automatic Qualifier Tournament championship match after defeating Wartburg College 5-4 in the semifinal round. The Norse faced Coe College in the title match and were defeated by the Kohawks 5-2. With the victory Coe advanced to the NCAA III National Tournament for the seventh year in a row.

In the semifinals, Luther held a 2-1 advantage over Wartburg following doubles. Kelsey Kruse and Devon Bourget won at No. 2 (8-5) and Britta Pressler and Ellie Hemker won at No. 3 (8-6).

Each team won three singles matches. Three of the six singles matches were also decided in a third set. 

Posting victories for the Norse included Jackie Cychosz at No. 1 (6-7, 7-5, 6-0), Bourget at No. 4 (7-5, 6-2) and Kruse at No. 6 (6-2, 4-6, 6-2).

Box Score

In the championship match, Coe jumped out to a 2-1 advantage following doubles and then secure the 2018 Tournament title recording three singles matches to secure the victory. 

Kruse and Bourget posted the lone victory in doubles at No. 2 (9-8) over Stephanie Bush and Eliza Sunderman. 

Bourget also recorded a victory in singles before Coe had secured the team victory. Bourget defeated Sunderman (6-4, 6-2) at No. 4.

Box Score

Luther, the Iowa Conference regular season champions for the second year in a row, ends it season with an overall record of 11-10. 

Questions? Contact David Blanchard, post_to_results, 563-387-1586