Three senior students receive Fulbright foreign scholarship awards

May 3, 2010

The Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board has announced that Luther College seniors Laura Mohs, Jaclyn Jirak and Brandon Reed have been selected for Fulbright awards for 2010-11.

A highly competitive award, the Fulbright foreign scholarship award provides funds for a year’s educational experience abroad, including travel, health insurance and a living stipend.

Mohs, from Bettendorf, Iowa, is an English and history major. She will serve as an English teaching assistant in Bulgaria.

Jirak, from Waucoma, Iowa, is an English major. She will serve as an English teaching assistant in the Czech Republic.

Reed, from St. Louis Park, Minn., is an economics and political science major. He will serve as an English teaching assistant in Indonesia.

The Fulbright commission also recognized Luther senior Erin Lunde, who was selected as an alternate grantee. Lunde, from Cooperstown, N.D., is an English major.

The Luther applicants submitted their post-graduate education proposals to the Fulbright program through the college’s honors advisory committee. Final selections are made by the Presidentially appointed 12-member Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Sponsored by the State Department, the Fulbright is the largest U.S. international exchange program, offering opportunities for students, scholars and professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching and teaching in elementary and secondary schools worldwide.

Grantees are expected to become involved in the communities in which they travel and serve during their year abroad to increase understanding between the people of the United States and the people of the more than 150 countries that currently participate in the Fulbright Program.

The program, introduced to Congress by Senator J. William Fulbright, was established in 1946 in order to foster leadership, learning and empathy between cultures. Since its inception, approximately 300,000 Fulbrighters have participated in the program.

Fulbright scholars have been awarded 40 Nobel Prizes. Fulbright alumni have become heads of state, cabinet ministers, ambassadors, heads of corporations, artists, university presidents, journalists, professors and teachers. Among the most notable grantees are actor John Lithgow, composer Philip Glass, opera singer Renee Fleming and economist Joseph Stiglitz. 

Jaclyn Jirak, Brandon Reed, Laura Mohs