Luther Economics and Business Department presents achievement awards

May 23, 2012                  

Twenty-eight Luther College students were recognized at the Luther Department of Economics and Business Senior Achievement Recognition ceremony of  2012, held May 1 at Baker Commons on the college campus. The department includes students graduating with accounting, economics or management majors and the information systems minor.

The first Warren G. Berg Award was presented during the ceremony, honoring the long-time professor and head of the economic-business department who died in March.

The Uwe Rudolf and Karen Braun Outstanding Accounting Scholar Award was presented to an outstanding accounting major in the junior class.

The Iowa Society of CPA's award was presented to the top accounting graduate.

Nineteen seniors received the Henry O. Talle Award, presented to the top 20 percent of the department's senior class in recognition for their academic achievements during their four-year college career.

Eleven seniors were recognized for their induction into the Omicron Delta Epsilon economics honor society.

Seven students were recognized as recipients of International Management Certificates.

Andrew Sloan, a management and accounting major from Barron, Wis. was the first recipient of the Berg Award. The award is to be presented annually to a student who exemplifies the motivation, values, academic gifts and commitment that Berg demonstrated throughout his life.

The Berg Award was established to honor the Luther professor who devoted more than 40 years of his life to a teaching career at Luther and whose students have advanced to successful careers in business, economics, accounting, management and other professional fields.

Sloan also was awarded the Iowa Society of CPA’s award for recognition of his academic excellence in the accounting program.

Qui Phuong Nguyen, a Luther junior from Vietnam, received the Uwe Rudolf and Karen Braun Outstanding Accounting Scholar Award. Established by Braun to honor her advisor and mentor, Uwe Rudolf, the award is presented each year to a Luther junior selected by the department's accounting faculty.

The 19 recipients of the Talle Award included Andrew Becklin, David Clair, Nicholas Devine, Kelly Dotseth, Erin Eggum, Ryan Fett, Zakery Fullerton, Mallory Heinzeroth, Jack McLeod, Collin Meyer, Michael Noltner, Paige Ofstedahl, Kate Schletty, Sloan, Tyler Stevenson, Scott Sundstrom, Renee Weeks, Xiao Xie and Tyler Zey.

Business and economic students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa include Noltner, Stevenson, Sundstrom and Zey. 

Business and economic students inducted into the department's Omicron Delta Epsilon Honor Society include Becklin, Matt Christofferson, Devine, Samuel Felt, Ross Frei, Ofstedahl, Aaron Smith and Stevenson.

Seven students were recognized as recipients of International Management Certificates: Emily Adhiambo, Ashwini Bharam, Madesh Chennappa, Collin Meyer, Sundstrom, Trong Thai and Weeks. 

For more information regarding the economics and business department's scholarships and awards, visit the website

Luther College Rudolf-Braun 2012 Award
The Iowa CPA Outstanding Student Award and Luther College's Warren G. Berg Award
Luther College 2012 Talle Award