Luther Women’s Tennis Team Travels to UW-Whitewater for the NCAA III National Tournament

The NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Committee has selected the 49 teams that will participate in the 2019 NCAA Division III National Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 10-12.

Luther College was the American Rivers Conference automatic qualifier for the national tournament after capturing the title of the league’s four-team National Qualifier Tournament held April 26-27. Luther defeated Coe College 5-0 in the semifinal round and then defeated regular season champions Wartburg College 5-3 in the championship match. Luther is making its 14th appearance in the national tournament and first since 2011.

Luther (15-9) will travel to UW-Whitewater that will serve as host for the first, second and third rounds. The other five teams traveling to UW-Whitewater include the University of Chicago from the University Athletic Association; Lake Forest College from the Midwest Conference; Carleton College from the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference; Edgewood College from the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference; and The College of St. Scholastica from the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference.

On Friday, May 10 first round matches will include Luther versus Lake Forest College (21-3), with the winner playing the University of Chicago (14-5) in the second round on Saturday, May 11.

On the other side of the regional bracket, UW-Whitewater (12-11) plays The College of St. Scholastica (17-6) and Carleton College (18-2) plays Edgewood College (20-7), with The two winners will face each other in the second round also played on Saturday.

UW-Whitewater National Tournament Website/Schedule/Results

2019 NCAA III National Championships Interactive Bracket

2019 A-R-C AQ Tournament Champions

American Rivers Conference

Nike logo