Anna Strien Named to 2018 NCAA Division III Softball Championship All-Tournament Team

It was announced yesterday that Luther College senior shortstop Anna Strien (Cedar Falls, Iowa/Waterloo Columbus) was named to the 12-player NCAA Division III Softball Championship All-Tournament Team.

Strien, a two-time first team NFCA All-American, helped lead Luther to a third place finish at the national tournament, its best finish in school history. The Norse made their seventh appearance at the national finale, the fifth under the direction of Head Coach Renae Hartl and its first since 2013. Luther finished the year with a record of 43-11 that was also a school record for wins in a single season. Luther completed the tournament with a record of 3-2 recording its most wins at the national tournament.

In the opening round of the tournament Luther defeated Massachusetts Institute of Technology (6-3); Lost to eventual national champions Virginia Wesleyan University (3-0) in round two; defeated Case Western Reserve University (7-6) in an elimination game; and then needed to defeat Illinois Wesleyan University twice to advance to the championship series. The Norse won game one (5-2) and were defeated (5-1) in game two.

2018 NCAA Division III Softball Championship All-Tournament Team

MIT – Amanda Lee

Rowan University – Jesse DeDomenico

Case Western Reserve University – Nicole Doyle

University of Texas-Tyler – Nicole Garcia

Ithaca College – Haley Congdon

Ithaca College – Nikkey Skuraton

Luther College – Anna Strien

Illinois Wesleyan University – Brea Walker

llinois Wesleyan University – Sam Berghoff

Illinois Wesleyan University – Jillian Runyon

Virginia Wesleyan University – Cassetty Howerin

Virginia Wesleyan University – Madison Glaubke

Most Outstanding Player – Virginia Wesleyan University – Hannah Hull

2018 NCAA III Third Place Team
Anna Strien Named to All-Tournament Team

American Rivers Conference

Nike logo