Four Luther Women's Soccer Players Named All-Conference

The American Rivers Conference has announced the 2018 all-conference team for women's soccer. Four members of the Luther College women's team were named to the 22-member team. The 22-member all-conference team and individual awards were nominated and voted by the Conference’s nine head coaches.

Seniors Marta Springer (St. Peter, Minn.) and Hanna Christopher (Cedar Falls, Iowa/Gladbrook-Reinbeck) were repeat honorees, while senior Sommer Stevens (Denver, Iowa) and sophomore Kennedy Bergren (Mahtomedi, Minn.) are receiving this honor for the first time. 

Springer and Christopher led the Norse in scoring during the 2018 campaign producing 16 and 11 points respectively. Springer drove in a team best seven goals and Christopher tallied five. Both were named all-conference in 2017.

Stevens was the third leading scorer for the Norse thanks to one goal and a team best five assists for a total of seven points.

Bergren was one of two goal keepers honored this year. In this her sophomore campaign she owned the league’s top goals against average at .719. In 750:48 tending goal she allowed just six goals, which is tied for second in the conference. Her .833 save percentage tied for tops in the league.

Senior defender Jesse Buttolph was named honorable mention all-conference. To be named honorable mention all-conference a player must receive at least two votes from the league's coaches.

2018 Complete All-Conference Team Release

Hanna Christopher Two-Time All-Conference
Marta Springer Two-Times All-Conference
Sommer Stevens 2018 All-Conference
Kennedy Bergren 2018 All-Conference

American Rivers Conference

Nike logo