Three Members of Luther Women's Soccer Team Named All-Conference

The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) has announced the 2017 all-conference team and major awards. Three members of the Luther College soccer team have been named to the 22-player all-conference team.

Named to the all-conference team for the first time of their careers was juniors Hanna Christopher (Cedar Falls, Iowa/Gladbrook-Reinbeck) and Marta Springer (St. Peter, Minn.), and sophomore Maggie Anderson (St. Peter, Minn.).

Christopher, a three-year starter, was credited with one goal and one assists during the 2017 campaign. Anderson finished second on the team in total points with 10, thanks to four goals and two assists. Springer was credited with two goals for the season. 

Junior midfielder Sommer Stevens (Denver, Iowa) was named honorable mention all-conference. 

The Norse finished the season advancing to the Iowa Conference Tournament championship match for the second year in a row, but were defeated by No. 19 Loras College 4-1. The Norse reached to the title match by advancing shootout by identical results of 4-3, in both the quarterfinals and semifinals. In the quarterfinals, Luther and Central played 110 minutes to a 0-0 tie. In the semifinals, Luther and Dubuque played to a 1-1 double overtime draw.

The Iowa Conference Tournament began in 1996. Luther has qualified for every tournament, a string of 21-consecutive years.

2017 Complete Iowa Conference All-Conference Team and Awards


American Rivers Conference

Nike logo