Schedule and Results

Back to event listings

IIAC AQ Tournament

Date:May 5, 2017 - May 6, 2017
Time:9:00 am
Location:Coe College - Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Luther was defeated by Coe College in the championship match of the Iowa Conference Automatic Qualifier Tournament 5-2 this afternoon in Cedar Rapids.

The Norse held a 2-1 advantage following doubles. Kyle Appel and Trent Schneider defeated Josh Pudlo and Luke Ford at No. 1 (9-7). Anders Jensen and Nate Parsons defeated Brady Anderson and Nate Greiner (8-6). Brian Murman and Kenny Goins were defeated (8-2) by James McManus and Nate Ackert at No. 3. 

Coe secured the tournament title posting four wins in singles. Anderson defeated Appel (6-4, 7-6) at No. 1; Ackert defeated Schneider (6-4, 6-4) at No. 2; McManus defeated Jensen (6-4, 6-2) at No. 3; and Alex Bernt defeated Murman at No. 5 (6-1, 6-4).

Box Score

Luther advanced to the championship match thanks to a 5-0 victory over Central College in the semifinals. 

In doubles, Appel and Schneider defeated CJ Cliff and Jimmy Cunningham at No. 1 (8-2). Jensen and Parsons defeated Alex Anderson and Garret Tayler at No. 2 (8-3). Goins and Murman defeated Sam Dykstra and Tom Palmer at No. 3 (8-2).

Schneider won in straight sets at No. 2 as did Goins at No. 6 to end the match. 

Box Score

Luther ends its season with an overall record of 18-6.

Contact: David Blanchard, 563-387-1586