Luther Traveling to the University of Chicago for NCAA III National Tournament

The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the 43 teams that will participate in the 2019 NCAA Division III National Tennis Championships. Luther College is making its  seventh appearance in the national tournament and first since 2011.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, Friday-Sunday, May 10-12.

Luther College was an automatic qualifier for the national tournament after capturing the American Rivers Conference AQ Tournament title on Saturday, May 4. The Norse defeated Central College in the semifinal round 5-0 and then defeated Coe College 5-2 in the championship match.

Luther (15-9) will travel to the University of Chicago that will serve as host for the first, second and third rounds. The other four teams traveling to Chicago include Augustana College (IL) from the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW); Gustavus Adolphus College from the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC), Grinnell College from the Midwest Conference; and the College of St. Scholastica from the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC).

On Friday, May 10 first round matches will include Luther versus Augustana College (24-6), with the winner playing the University of Chicago (17-2) in the second round on Saturday, May 11.

On the other side of the regional bracket, Grinnell College (25-4) plays The College of St. Scholastica (14-7) with the winner facing Gustavus Adolphus College (19-8) in the second round that will also be played on Saturday.

The winners of the two second round matches will play each other on Sunday, May 12.

2019 NCAA III Men's Tennis Regional (Chicago) Website/Schedule/Results

2019 NCAA III National Tournament Interactive Bracket

Men's Tennis AQ Tournament Champions

American Rivers Conference

Nike logo