Five Norse Earn All-Conference Honors in Swimming & Diving - Luther Finishes Third at Conference Championship.

The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has released the all-conference honorees for 2017-18 in swimming and diving. For an athlete to earn all-conference honors, they must place in the top-two of an individual event or be a member of a first or second place relay team during the conference championships.

The Iowa Conference championship actually takes place simultaneously with the final national qualifying meet of the season the Liberal Arts Championships. At the conclusion of the Liberal Arts Championships, the meet is re-scored with just the teams from the Iowa Conference and the team champion and all-conference honors are determined.

Trevor Kao (Sr., Clinton, Iowa) earned all-conference honors placing second in both one-meter and three-meter diving. This was the first year Kao was a member of the Norse diving team.

The foursome of Matt Staver (So., Bloomington, Ill./Normal Community), Peder Smith (So., Baxter, Minn./Brainerd), Soren Gloege Torp (Fr., Apple Valley, Minn./Eastview) and Hunter Barnard (Sr., Marshalltown, Iowa) finished second in the 800 freestyle relay.

As a team, Luther finished in a tie for third place with Coe College posting 315 points. Nebraska Wesleyan University won the team title with 590 points, followed by Loras College with 349. Simpson College completed the field with 210 points.

Complete Iowa Conference Championships Results


American Rivers Conference

Nike logo