Six Members of Luther Soccer Team Named All-Conference

The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) has announced the 2017 all-conference team for men's soccer. The all-conference team and Most Valuable Performers were voted upon by the head coaches of the league.

Luther had a league high six players named to the all-conference team. This list included senior Ahmed Osman (Avondale, Ariz./Westview), juniors Andrew Avram (Scottsdale, Ariz./Saguaro), Rafael Broseghini (Rio De Janerio, Brazil), Bruno Colon (San Palo, Brazil), Aidan O' Driscoll (Minneapolis, Minn./Benilde-St. Margarets), and sophomore Ben Keller (Vadnais Heights, Minn./White Bear Lake). This is the second time in as many years Osman has earned this award, while the rest are all making their first appearance on the all-conference team.

Osman, who anchored the Norse defensive line, was also named the league's Defensive MVP. He completed his career making 72 appearances that included 58 starts. He tallied six goals and added one assist.

Keller led the Norse in total points during the 2017 campaign, scoring a team high 11 goals. He also added five assists for 27 points. Colon was next with nine goals and six assists for 24 points and also led the team with three game winners. Broseghini tallied five goals and five assists for 15 points, while Avram was credited with one goal and five assists for seven points, and O'Driscoll produced one goal and three assists for five points.

Named honorable mention all-conference was senior defender Bernardo Marotti and sophomore defender Harry Merz.

It was also announced that Head Coach Chris Garcia-Prats, assistant coaches James Garcia-Prats and Hollie Gray III and goalkeeper coach Ryan Martin were named the Coaching Staff of the Year. This is the second time since taking over the program in 2008 that the Luther coaching staff has been so honored. They were also presented this award in 2011.

The Norse captured the 2017 Iowa Conference regular season championship posting a record of 6-1-1. The Norse finished the year with an overall mark of 11-4-5. The league title was the ninth in school history and third under the direction of head coach Chris Garcia-Prats.

2017 Iowa Conference All-Conference Team


American Rivers Conference

Nike logo