Schedule and Results

Back to event listings

IIAC Championships (Final 36 Holes)

Date:May 5, 2017 - May 6, 2017
Time:9:00 am
Location:Indianola Country Club, Indianola, Iowa

Luther shot a 302 in the final round of the Iowa Conference Championships played at Indianola Country Club and clinched its second consecutive league title and the program's 11th in school history. Head coach Scott Fjelstul was named the IIAC Coach of the Year, the tenth time he has been so honored.

The Norse shot a three-round total of 929 and finished nine strokes ahead of runner-up Simpson College at 938. Nebraska Wesleyan was third at 939.

Individually, Joe Fewer and Ben Grotnes earned all-conference honors by placing in the top-10 of the field of 44 golfers. Fewer earned his second consecutive all-conference honor shooting a one-over par 72 today. He finished alone in third place with a three-round total of 228. Grotnes earned his first all-conference honor carding a 79 today and finished alone in fourth place at 231.

Peter Kephart (T11th, 80-81-77-238) Andrew Betts (T14, 77-81-82-240) and Spencer Horst (T14, 82-84-74-240) completed the Norse five.

Complete Results

With the conference championship, Luther has qualified for the NCAA III National Tournament for the seventh time in school history. This year's tournament will be held at Mission Inn Resort, Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida May 16-19.

Contact: David Blanchard, 563-387-1586

Scott Fjelstul 10-Time IIAC Coach of the Year
2017 IIAC Champions
2017 All-Conference