Luther Claims 2016 Iowa Conference Championship - Qualifies for NCAA III National Tournament

Luther shot a four-round total of 1215 and captured the 2016 Iowa Conference championship. The title was the first for the Norse since 2008 and tenth in school history. With the league title, Luther also qualified for the NCAA III National Tournament that will take place May 10-13 in Rochester, N.Y.

The Iowa Conference Tournament was played on back-to-back weekends with the first 36-holes played at Finkbine Golf Course, Iowa City, Iowa and the final 36-holes played on Luther's home course, Oneota Golf and Country Club. 

Following yesterday's 27-holes, Luther held an eight-stroke lead over Wartburg College. Due to the rain in the forecast for today (Saturday), the tournament committee decided to play 27-holes yesterday (Friday) and complete the tournament with nine holes today (Saturday). 

Tee times started at 9:00 a.m. and from 10:30 a.m. until the end of the tournament, the rain came down at a steady pace. In the end, Luther won the team title by five strokes over Wartburg College who posted a 72-hole total of 1220. Simpson College was third at 1230 and defending champions Central College was fourth at 1232.

Three Luther golfers earned all-conference by finishing in the top-10 of the 40-player field. Elliot Horst finished in a two-way tie for second (74-72-78-77-301), Peter Kephart placed eighth (79-74-75-78-306) and Joe Fewer finished tied for ninth (77-77-74-81 - 309).

Andrew Betts (73-79-81-77-310) missed finishing in the top-10 by one stroke and Adam Turner (76-82-74-80-312) miss it by three strokes. Betts finished in a tie for 11th and Turner finished in a tie for 14th.

Head Coach Scott Fjelstul was named the Iowa Conference Coach of the Year for a league record ninth time.

Complete Results

The NCAA III National Tournament will be played on two golf courses, the Midvale County Club and Mendon Golf Club. Play begins on Tuesday, May 10. Forty-one teams and five individuals will be invited to the tournament. After 36 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 15 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams. 

2016 IIAC All-Conference
2016 Iowa Conference Champions

American Rivers Conference

Nike logo