Sixteen Members of the Men's Cross Country Team Earn IIAC Fall Sports All-Academic Recognition

Sixteen members of the Luther College men's cross country team have been named to the The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) 2016 Fall Sports All-Academic Team.

To qualify for all-academic team honors, a student-athlete must be in their sophomore, junior or senior year of eligibility, have maintained a grade point average of 3.50 or greater on a 4.0 scale, have attended the school for at least a year, and be a member of the varsity team. All-academic teams are sponsored three times a year, fall, winter and spring. The fall sports all-academic team is comprised of student-athletes from the sports of men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s cross country, football, volleyball, women’s tennis, and women’s golf.

Earning all-academic team recognition were seniors Parker Beard (Decorah, Iowa/Environmental Studies), Isaac Jensen (Iowa City, Iowa/Environmental Studies and Biology), Patrick Larson (Decorah, Iowa/Economics), Bret Powers (Adel, Iowa/Biology) and Trever Schwichtenberg (Owatonna, Minn./Chemistry) and Mitch Stenoien (Eden Prairie, Minn./German and Economics); juniors Matt Amann (La Crosse, Wis./Chemistry), Jordan Boge (Johnston, Iowa/French and Communication Studies), Tanner Gibbons (Coon Valley, Wis./Biology), Bryce Hefty (Madison, Wis./English), Hunter Prueger (Ames, Iowa/undecided), Ryan Schnaith (Red Wing, Minn./Mathematics) and Jacob Warehime (Owatonna, Minn./English); and sophomores Jonah Gehrt (Byron, Minn./Biology), Kyle Gilberg (Mendota Heights, Minn./Data Science) and Will Simonson (Madison, Wis./Physical Education).

Jensen, Larson, Powers and Schwichtenberg are all making their third appearance on the all-academic team. Second time honorees are Amman, Beard, Boge, Hefty, Prueger, Schnaith and Stenoien.



Nike logo