Luther College Announces 2020 Athletic Hall of Fame Class

Luther College will recognize seven alumni and a former head coach as its newest members of the Athletic Hall of Fame.

Under normal circumstances, the Hall of Fame Induction ceremony would take place during Homecoming weekend, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the college made the difficult decision to not host in-person Homecoming events this year. Instead, the college will offer virtual Homecoming events Oct. 9-11.

The 2020 Hall of Fame class includes Jim Helgason, football and baseball, 1970; Jacki Wright, Associate Professor Emerita in Health Promotion and Exercise Science, field hockey, basketball, softball, assistant softball and basketball coach, 1975; Pete Lawrence, swimming, 1990; Andrea Brinton, volleyball, track and field, 1996; Ryan LeBeau, wrestling, 2005; Natalie (Retrum) Wyse, cross country and track and field, 2005; John Jaeger, football and baseball, 2005; and Rich Leake, Professor Emeritus of Management, former head men's tennis coach.

Click Here for the virtual Athletic Hall of Fame Celebration.

A formal in-person Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and the presentation of the Athletics Meritorious Service Award will take place on a future date yet to be determined.

The Hall of Fame Committee is comprised of current coaches, administrative staff and athletics alumni.