Thirty Luther Student-Athletes Inducted Into Chi Alpha Sigma Society

Thirty Luther College student-athletes have been inducted into the 2020 Chi Alpha Sigma Excellence in Athletics and Academics Honor Society.  

Chi Alpha Sigma is a nonprofit organization that was established to recognize college student-athletes who excel both on and off the field of competition. The organization was founded in 1996 by then DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis. His goal was to provide outstanding student-athletes with an opportunity to become connected within a fraternal association that aligns their educational and athletic successes for a lifetime. 

Chi Alpha Sigma is the first national scholar-athlete society to honor those collegiate student-athletes who have excelled in both the classroom and in athletic competition. Chi Alpha Sigma recognizes college students who receive a varsity letter in their sport; have earned a 3.4 or higher cumulative grade point average; and are of excellent character and citizenship.

Luther established its chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma during the 2017-18 academic year.

The 2020 inductees in alphabetical order: Maggie Anderson (St. Peter, MN), Emmy Buntrock (Rochester, MN/Dover-Eyota), Katherine Bouska (Iowa City, IA/City), Lizzy DePrenger (Iowa City, IA/Regina), Maxwell Eness (Ames, IA), Laura Hamilton (Chanhassen, MN/Minnetonka), Madilyn Heinke (Seymour, WI), Ellie Hemker (Winona, MN/Senior), Aubry Highum (Waterville, MN/Waseca), Sarah Holtz (Austin, MN/Pacelli Catholic), Collin Kern (Bloomington, MN/Kennedy), Ilsa Knivsland (Cedar Falls, IA), Josie Lange (Chaska, MN), Megan LePlante (Chatfield, MN), Vera Lindhorst (St. Cloud, MN/Tech), Izzi Lockheimer Toso (Plymouth, MN/Wayzata), Shannon Lunn (Farmington, MN/Rosemount), Sydney Maule (Appleton, WI/North), Lindsay McFarland (Lakeville, MN/North), Harry Merz (Auckland, New Zealand), Andrew Millán (Plymouth, MN/Wayzata), Grant Morton (Port Elizabeth, South Africa), Trevor Phillips (Decorah, IA), Alix Sharp (Iowa City, IA/City), Meghan Sickel (Lakeville, MN/South), Benjamin Sizelove (Grayslake, IL/Central), Peder Smith (Baxter, MN/Brainerd), Paige Timmerman (Cedar Rapids, IA/Kennedy), Colin Weber (Rochester, MN/Century), and Paige Yontz (Urbandale, IA/Waukee).

Luther College Excellence in Athletics and Academics Chi Alpha Sigma Society Complete List of Inductees