Seventeen Luther Student-Athletes Named to IIAC Winter Sports All-Academic Team

The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) announced today the 2017-18 Winter Sports All-Academic Team. One hundred and thirty-nine student-athletes from the Conference's five winter championship sports met the requirements for recognition. Luther had 17 student-athletes recognized.

To be eligible for Iowa Conference All-Academic Team honors a student-athlete must be on the eligibility list for the sport of nomination, at least a sophomore in academic standing with at least one year in residence and attain an accumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better (on a 4.0 scale).

Of the 17 Luther student-athletes recognized, three have earned this honor three times, six have been recognized twice, and eight were recognized for the first time. 

The breakdown by sport was one for men's basketball, eight for women'sbasketball , four for both men's and women's swimming & diving.

Men's Basketball - Josh Peters (Jr., Lake Milles, Iowa)

Women's Basketball - Maggie Anderson (So., St. Peter, Minn.), Laura Hamilton (So., Minnetonka, Minn./Chanhassen), Aubrey Highum (So., Waterville, Minn./Waseca), Sarah Holtz (So., Austin, Minn./Pacelli Catholic), Anna Peterson (So., La Crescent, Minn.), Sydney Rehnelt (Sr., Albert Lea, Minn.), Lauren Resner (Sr. Mankato, Minn./West) and Katie Waller (Sr., La Crescent, Minn.)

Women's Swimming & Diving - Elizabeth Bonin (Sr., Bettendorf, Iowa), Pilar Dritz (Sr., Manhatten, Kan.), Hannah Rovang (Jr., O'Fallon, Mo./Fort Zumwalt West), Martha Stelter (Jr., St. Peter, Minn.)

Men's Swimming & Diving - Ian Christopherson (Sr., Austin, Minn.), Trevor Kao (Sr., Clinton, Iowa), Zach Martin (Jr., Boone, Iowa), Peder Smith (So., Baxter, Minn./Brainerd)

2018 Iowa Conference Winter All-Academic Team Complete List