The 2020 Norse Awards Will Take Place Sunday, Feb. 16 at 7:00 p.m. - Darin Monroe Will Be Presented Jeff Wettach Alumni Coach of the Year Award - Live Video Stream

The 2020 Norse Awards, celebrating the calendar year, will be take place Sunday, Feb. 16 in the Regents Center Gym at 7:00 p.m. The entire awards ceremony will be video streamed live.

This year's Master of Ceremonies will once again be Mr. Brian Solberg.

Darin Monroe, Luther class of 2009, will be presented the Jeff Wettach Alumni Coach of the Year Award. Monroe is currently in his ninth season as head softball coach at Rock Valley College, Rockford, Ill.

Monroe has led the Golden Eagles to unprecedented success including winning six straight NJCAA DIII National Championships - the first NJCAA softball program to accomplish this feat. In eight seasons, Monroe boasts a 371-75 (.832) overall record which also includes seven consecutive N4C conference championships.

On the softball diamond, Monroe has coached 20 Rock Valley student-athletes to 29 NFCA All-America honors, 36 players to 46 All-Region IV honors, coached 36 RVC athletes to 48 All-N4C honors, including six N4C MVPs.

In the classroom, Monroe has tutored 37 NFCA Academic All-Americans in seven years.  His teams have been recognized by both the NFCA and NJCAA for their Academic Achievement for having a team GPA above 3.0 for the 2012-2013, 2014-2015, 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 school years.

Monroe and his staff have been awarded the NFCA National Coaching Staff of the Year in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. Monroe has been awarded the N4C Coach of the Year in 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016, and Region IV Coach of the Year in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019.  He has won the National Championship Coach of the Tournament in 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Eight awards will also be presented that include the Female Rookie of the Year, Male Rookie of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year, Male Athlete of the Year, Record-Breaking Performance, Comeback of the Year, Play of the Year, Team of the Year.

Darin Monroe