2017-18 Academic Calendar

Luther operates on a 4-1-4 academic calendar. First semester runs from September to December, followed by a three-week January Term. Second semester runs from February to May. In the liberal arts tradition of broad inquiry, students often use J-term to study abroad, perform internships in their field, or study one topic intensely while on campus.

Two four-week summer sessions are also offered at Luther, one in June and another in July.

Fall Semester 2017

Monday, August 21 – 25
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 24 – 25
Faculty days
Saturday, August 26
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 26 – 29
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 27
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 30
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 8
Last day to add full semester classes and due date of incomplete grades from previous semester
Friday, September 22 - 24
Family Weekend
Tuesday, September 26
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, October 6 - 8
Homecoming
Thursday, October 12
End of first half of semester
Friday, October 13 – 17
Fall vacation
Friday, October 27
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Tuesday, October 31
Reformation Commemoration
Tuesday, November 21
Senior projects due by 5 p.m.
Wednesday, November 22 – 26
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, November 30 – December 3
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 8
Last day of classes
Saturday, December 9
Reading day
Monday, December 11 – 14
Final examinations

January Term 2018

Monday, January 8
Classes begin
Wednesday, January 31
End of term

Spring Semester 2018

Thursday, February 8
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 16
Last day to add full semester classes and due date of incomplete grades from previous semester
Tuesday, March 6
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 23
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 24 – April 2
Spring/Easter Vacation
Tuesday, April 10
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with "W"
Wednesday, May 2
Senior projects due by 5 p.m.
Friday, May 11
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Tuesday, May 15
Senior recognition convocation
Friday, May 18
Last day of classes
Saturday, May 19
Reading day
Monday, May 21 – 24
Final examinations
Sunday, May 27
Commencement

Summer 2018

Monday, June 4
Summer session I begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 29
Summer session I ends
Monday, July 2
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 27
Summer session II ends