Academic Calendar

Luther operates on a 4-1-4 academic calendar. First semester runs from September to December, followed by a three-week January Term. Second semester runs from February to May. In the liberal arts tradition of broad inquiry, students often use J-term to study abroad, perform internships in their field, or study one topic intensely while on campus.

Two four-week summer sessions are offered at Luther, one in June and another in July.


If you have questions on the academic calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or [email protected].

2021-22 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2021

Monday, August 23 – Friday, August 27
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 26 – Friday, August 27
Faculty days
Saturday, August 28
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 28 – Tuesday, August 31
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 29 - Tuesday, August 31
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, September 1
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 10
Last day to add or drop (without a "W") full semester classes
Friday, September 17 - Sunday, September 19
Family Weekend
Friday, October 1- Sunday, October 3
Homecoming
Friday, October 15
End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 16 – Wednesday, October 20
Fall vacation
Friday, October 29
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Wednesday, November 24 – Sunday, November 28
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 2 – Sunday, December 5
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 10
Last day of classes
Monday, December 13 – Thursday, December 16
Final examinations

January Term 2022

Monday, January 3
Classes begin
Wednesday, January 26
End of term

Spring Semester 2022

Wednesday, February 2
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 11
Last day to add or drop (without a "W") full semester classes
Friday, March 18
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 19 – Sunday, March 27
Spring vacation
Tuesday, April 5
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with "W"
Friday, April 15 - Monday, April 18
Easter vacation
Friday, May 6
Student Research Symposium (no classes)
Friday, May 13
Last day of classes
Monday, May 16 – Thursday, May 19
Final examinations
Sunday, May 22
Commencement

Summer 2022

Tuesday, May 31
Summer session I and Summer Term begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 24
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 27
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 22
Summer session II ends
Friday, August 19
Summer Term ends