2023-24 Academic Calendar

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or registrar@luther.edu

Fall Semester 2023

DateDescription
Wednesday, August 16 – Friday, August 18Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 24 – Friday, August 25Faculty days
Saturday, August 26First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 26 – Tuesday, August 29Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 27 Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 30Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 8Last day to add or drop full semester classes
Friday, September 22 - Sunday, September 24Family Weekend
Friday, October 6 - Sunday, October 8Homecoming
Friday, October 13End of first half of semester
Saturday, October 14 – Wednesday, October 18Fall vacation
Friday, October 27Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Wednesday, November 22 – Sunday, November 26Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, November 30 – Sunday, December 3Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 8Last day of classes
Monday, December 11 – Thursday, December 14Final examinations

January Term 2024

DateDescription
Wednesday, January 3Classes begin
Friday, January 26End of term

Spring Semester 2024

DateDescription
Thursday, February 1Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 9Last day to add or drop full semester classes
Friday, March 15End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 16 – Sunday, March 24Spring vacation
Thursday, March 28Last day to withdraw from full semester class with "W"
Friday, March 29Easter vacation
Friday, May 3Learning @ Luther Showcase (no classes)
Friday, May 10Last day of classes
Monday, May 13 – Thursday, May 16Final examinations
Sunday, May 19Commencement

Summer 2024

DateDescription
Monday, June 3Summer session I begins/Summer term begins
JuneNew student registration
Friday, June 28Summer session I ends
Monday, July 1Summer session II begins
Friday, July 26Summer session II ends
Friday, August 23Summer term ends

Office of the Registrar

Main Building 123
700 College Drive
Decorah, Iowa 52101

Send Email

Phone: 563-387-1167
Fax: 563-387-1129