Holiday Schedule

To: Luther College Faculty and Staff

From: Office of Human Resources

Date: April 1, 2019

Subject: Summer Hours and Holiday Schedule for Summer and Academic Year 2019-20

Summer Hours

  • Summer hours will begin on Monday, May 27, 2019
  • Monday-Thursday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (30 minute lunch breaks; total daily hours = 8.5 hours)
  • Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. (30 minute lunch break, total hours = 6 hours)

Note: 

  1. Each office must be staffed by at least one employee until 5:00 p.m. on Friday.
  2. Breaks will not be scheduled at the end of the work day.

We will return to regular work hours 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday on Monday, August 19, 2019 (Note change: Two weeks prior to start of classes). 

Holiday Schedule—Summer and Academic Year

  • Good Friday: Friday, April 19, 2019
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 27, 2019
  • Independence Day: Thursday, July 4, 2019
  • Pre-Thanksgiving:  Wednesday, November 27, 2019 - campus closes at 3 p.m.
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, November 28, 2019
  • Thanksgiving Holiday: Friday, November 29, 2019
  • Christmas Holiday: Tuesday, December 24, 2019
  • Christmas Day: Wednesday, December 25, 2019
  • New Year's Holiday: Tuesday, December 31, 2019
  • New Year's Day: Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Good Friday: Friday, April 10, 2020
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 25, 2020
  • Personal Day: To be used from September 1, 2019through August 31, 2020. (May not be split between days)

*Please note that January Term classes begin Monday, January 6, 2020