Holiday Schedule

To: Luther College Faculty and Staff

From: Office of Human Resources

Date: April 1, 2016

Subject: Summer Hours and Holiday Schedule for Summer and Academic Year 2016-17

Summer Hours

  • Summer hours will begin on Monday, May 23, 2016
  • Monday-Thursday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (45 minute lunch breaks; total hours = 8.25)
  • Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. (30 minute lunch break, and no morning or afternoon break; total hours = 7)

Note: 

  1. Each office must be staffed by at least one employee until 5:00 p.m. on Friday.
  2. Breaks will not be scheduled at the end of the work day.

We will return to regular work hours (8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday) on Monday, August 22, 2016 (always the week prior to classes beginning). 

Holiday Schedule—Summer and Academic Year

  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 30, 2016
  • Independence Day: Monday, July 4, 2016
  • Thanksgiving Day: Thursday, November 24, 2016
  • Thanksgiving Holiday: Friday, November 25, 2016
  • Christmas & New Years Holiday: Monday - Friday, December 26 - 30, 2016
  • Good Friday: Friday, April 14, 2017
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 29, 2017
  • Personal Day: To be used from September 1, 2016 through August 31, 2017. (May not be split between days)

**Please note that January Term classes begin Tuesday, January 3, 2017