Environmental Studies

Gift Amount

The Robert Anderson Memorial Scholarship, funded through the Robert Anderson Memorial Scholarship Fund at the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, established through friends in memory of Robert (Bob) Anderson. The scholarship shall be awarded to graduates of Iowa high schools seeking a degree in environmental studies. (Students majoring in political science, museum studies, journalism, data science, chemistry, biology, or other related degrees may also be considered, only if their previous studies or activities demonstrates their ability to apply their knowledge, skills, and abilities to address environmental issues.) Preferences (in order of importance): a) to students having demonstrated concern for the environment through positive environmental activism, community involvement that includes an environmental aspect, and/or independent studies related to environmentalism; b) to students who demonstrate financial need; and c) to students with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The Clifford O. Berg Scholarship in Environmental Biology, established by Clifford O. Berg '34 in memory of his late wife, parents, family, and parents-in-law, shall be awarded to students in good academic standing who have demonstrated a strong interest in the environment, recognition of our increasingly urgent environmental problems, and aptitude in some area, or areas, of environmental conservation.

The Terence E. and Faith L. Fretheim Scholarship for Environmental Studies and the Care of Creation, established by Terence '56 and Faith (Luzum) Fretheim '56, shall be awarded to qualified students with demonstrated need for financial assistance, with preference given to students in the environmental studies program working on issues related to the environment and care of creation--demonstrating in practice Luther's commitment to solar energy, environmental studies, and focus on sustainable communities.

The August A. Halverson Scholarship, established through the estate of August A. Halverson, shall be awarded to qualified students with demonstrated need for financial assistance who are the first member in their family to attend college. In alternate years, to students who are pre-ministry (seminary bound only), or if there are no candidates, students majoring in environmental studies. August Halverson ended his formal schooling in the 6th grade, but convinced to use his mechanical skill working for several companies which created machinery to harvest agricultural products. His business management acumen took him to Europe to build large factories which fabricated the machinery. He was described as the man who put the "international" in the International Harvester Company.

The Honda Motorwërks of La Crosse Scholarship, established in honor of Richard J. Tenneson, retired director of facilities services at Luther College, shall be awarded to qualified students with demonstrated need for financial assistance.  Consideration will be given to a student who has a strong interest in sustainability issues and environmental studies.  

The Johanna Olson Memorial Scholarship, established by Terry Olson and Jane Bagstad and Marney Olson '99 to honor the memory of Johanna Olson '01, shall be awarded to qualified students with demonstrated need for financial assistance who demonstrates academic excellence with a minimum GPA of 3.25. Preference shall be given to students majoring in education and/or environmental studies.

The Dr. Jaime and Matthew Titus Scholarship, established by Jaime (Rowe) '00 and Mattew Titus '01, shall be awarded to qualified students majoring in environmental studies, with a GPA of 3.0 or above, and who have need for financial assistance.

The Aaron Wrobleski and Kristin Kahle Wrobleski Endowed Scholarship, established by Aaron Wrobleski '99 and Kristin Kahle-Wrobleski '99, shall be awarded to qualified students in the sciences with demonstrated need for financial assistance. First preference shall be given to students studying environmental studies with an interest in climate change.