Calendar of Events

Back to event listings

IIAC Championships

  • Repeats: Every day from May 11, 2012 to May 12, 2012.
  • Date: Friday, May 11, 2012
  • Time: All day
  • Location: Dubuque, Iowa

Luther placed fourth at the two-day Iowa Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships posting a point total of 112. Wartburg won its 13th consecutive IIAC title winning 15 of 22 events and setting a league record with 353 points. Central was second with 116.5, followed by Loras with 114.5.

Individually, Emma Spoon was a two-time all-conference performer. To earn all-conference honors, an athlete must place in the top three of her individual event or as a member of a relay team. Spoon placed second in the 10,000 meters (39:30.70) and was third in the 5,000 meters (17:48.48). Her all-conference honors in the 10,000 was the second of her career in this event.

Christina Storlie earned all-conference honors for the second time in the 3,000 steeplechase. Storlie finished second clocked at 11:04.95.

Maggie Pierson earned her first outdoor all-conference honor with a third place finish in the 1500. Pierson crossed the finish line with a time of 4:48.70.

The 4 x 800 relay of Sam McAllister, Lauren Stokke, Nicole Powers and Pierson finished second, posting the seventh fastest time in Luther history of 9:31.68.

Four athletes earned all-conference honors in the field events. Addy Rickels placed second in the heptathlon (4172 pts), Leah Broderick was second in the javelin (118-0), Lisa Richter was third in the triple jump (36-9 3/4), and Amanda Dunn placed third in the discus (132-6). Richter's distance in the triple jump ranks fourth all-time, while Broderick's mark in the javelin ranks seventh. 

 Top-10 performances were also posted by Broderick (3992) and Anna Burke (3829) in the heptathlon, that rank eighth and tenth respectively. Rachel Aune posted the ninth best throw in school history in the hammer (115-7) and Richter's mark of 17-1 1/4 in the triple jump ranks ninth all-time. Desi Mantey remained tenth on the all-time list in the pole vault with a personal best of 8-8 1/4.

Complete Results 

2012 Iowa Conference Track and Field Championships Recap

Questions? Contact David Blanchard, post_to_results, 563-387-1586