Luther College Model United Nations (LCMUN)

The Luther College Model United Nations (LCMUN) team has a strong commitment toward creating awareness on political, economic, social, and humanitarian issues that affect the entire global community.

Each year, the Model United Nations (MUN) team is assigned a country where students represent Luther as a delegation. Students take part in a wide variety of United Nations committees, agencies, and bodies including the Security Council, the General Assembly, Economic and Social Council, the International Court of Justice, Food and Agricultural Organization, and World Health Organization. Each committee has their own respective topics which requires in-depth research from the perspective of their country's foreign policy. During the process, students gain knowledge of international law, parliamentary procedures as well as develop their public speaking and diplomatic skills. Overall, being an MUN delegate helps students develop a global perspective to address the challenges we face in the 21st century.

Each year, Luther students emulate the legislative processes of the United Nations at a regional or national conference. In the Spring of 2020, LCMUN team participated in the Midwest Model United Nations (MMUN) conference in St. Louis, MO. Our delegation won two honorable mentions in the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) representing Ethiopia and Equatorial Guinea respectively. In the Fall of 2020, we will represent Norway during the annual American Model United Nations (AMUN) conference in Chicago, IL. We are still encouraging new members of the Luther community to join our club in this journey. Please send us an email to receive the latest updates and follow our Instagram account.

Faculty advisor: Dr. Orçun Selçuk

President: Loi Mai

Vice-President: Nora Nyi Myint

Secretary: Chanyanuch Butsayaturt

Treasurer: Jack Geadelmann


For more information: [email protected]