Class of 2015 Spring 2017 Letter

Spring 2017

Dear Classmates,

We promised to write again, and the time is here! As we find ourselves in our own respective locations at the beginning of March, back in Decorah the Luther community is beginning to buzz with the excitement of the coming spring. There are a lot of exciting things coming up on campus—an evening with X Ambassadors for the SAC spring concert, the research symposium later on in the semester, and many events celebrating 500 years of reformation.

You probably heard the news about our beloved Weston Noble ’43, who died Dec. 21, 2016. A celebration of his life will be held in the CFL at 1 p.m. on Saturday, May 13. More details about Weston’s life can be found in the Winter 2017 issue of the Luther Alumni Magazine and on Luther’s website.

It was announced in January that Andrew Last ’97, assistant professor of music and conductor of Collegiate Chorale and Norsemen, has been appointed as Nordic Choir conductor and director of choral activities. He’ll begin this role in the fall semester of 2017. If you want to know more about this and various other campus updates, be sure to check out the Luther website to stay connected.

Attached to this letter is a list of the folks from our class who gave in calendar year 2016. A reminder that we had one of the highest Senior Giving Campaign participation percentages (61 percent of the class), so let’s all keep up that level of excellence and honor our commitment to give back! Thank you for your generosity already, and thank you in advance for your continued support of Luther.

One final note—everyone on campus was extremely excited about Luther’s second Giving Day, #luthergives17, which happened on Thursday, March 9. We hope you were able to participate in this day of social media awesomeness, made a gift or two, tuned in to the live stream, and spread the word on social media! The Development Office put in a lot of work to make this event as exciting as possible, so we hope you had a great time on March 9 spreading the Luther love!!

Have a wonderful spring!

James Odegaard 
[email protected]                

John Dahl 
[email protected]                     

Maggie (Steinberg) Hagen
[email protected]


Tiya Abdalla is a drug diversion case manager at Operation de Novo in Minneapolis.

Ryan Barrett is staff auditor at Media Audits International in Greenwood Village, Colo.

Christine (O’Brien) Deignan is a Luther admissions counselor in the Des Moines Regional Office.

Jessica Dorsey is a development specialist at Presence Health in Chicago.

Sarah Fox is shift manager at Sencha Tea Bar in Minneapolis.

Andrew Herder teaches math at Joseph A. Craig High School in Janesville, Wis.

Kaley Herman is a research coordinator at the University of Minnesota Medical School in Duluth.

Michona Johns is academic navigator of Minnesota Opportunity Corps in Minneapolis.

Nils Johnson is a legal intern for the Colorado State Public Defender in Centennial.

Mitchell Kennedy teaches middle school special education at Decatur (Mich.) Public Schools.

Ryley Kramka teaches physical education for the Minneapolis Public Schools.

Hannah Parker is a milieu treatment counselor at Orchard Place in Des Moines, Iowa.

Victoria Peters
is a teaching assistant in music history at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Peck School of the Arts.

Laura Peterson teaches fifth grade at Altoona (Iowa) Elementary School.

Blaire Shaffer is a communications assistant for the Benevolent and Protective Order of the Elks in Chicago.

Steven Sorenson is an interface engineer for Epic Systems Inc. in Verona, Wis.


DIANE BYRNES-JOHNSON and Daniel Stanislowski, Oct. 10, 2015
ANDREW HERDER and Kalyn Jacobsen, June 4, 2016


Stephanie Lake and Nicholas Eliason welcomed a son, Isaac James, in February 2016.

The Annual Fund – make your gift today:
Your gift. Put to work, right away, where it is needed most.

Last year more than 10,000 alumni, family, and friends supported Luther’s Annual Fund with gifts from $5 to $100,000. Your gift makes a difference for each and every student at Luther, and we are grateful for your support.

This list includes all gifts received January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2016. Making a gift each and every year is an investment in the lives of Luther students and a show of support for the Luther College community. Thank you for your support of Luther College through your giving.

Neal Abbott
Jacob Albee
Erik Anderson
Tyler Anderson
Eric Angeroth Franks
Cale Austin
Anna Avila
Taylor Baloga
Ryan Barrett
Jordyn Barry
Danielle Basche
Corinne Benzinger
Andrea Berkeland
Colin Berry
Emily Betts
Audrey Bird
Lindsey Bohr
Jennifer Bonnell
Leah Broderick
Timothy Bumpus
Anna Burke Weckwerth
Rebecca Chapin
Paige Clark
Nichole Clemens
Lindsey Colyer
Jamie Consamus
Benjamin Cooper
Mariah Crotty
John Dahl
LeahAnne Dahlquist
Jenna Darsee
Holly (Harris) de la Chapelle
Christine (O'Brien) Deignan
James Deignan
Casey DeLima
Stephanie Diebel
Anna Dieter
Rigzin Dolma
Jessica Dorsey
Erik Dotseth
Brian Eachus
Michael Ehrecke
Jacob Ehresmann
Samantha Eilers
Carly Ellefsen
Allison Feltes
Kaitlyn Fillmore
Kristen Flick
Katherine Flinchbaugh
Sarah Floden
Sarah Fox
Matthew Freburg
John Freude
Celia Garner-Prouty
Megan Gelsinger
Taylor Graydon
Abby Greufe
Margaret (Steinberg) Hagen
Alexis (Reynolds) Hahn
Sarah Haley
Debra (Bolle) Hansberry
Benjamin Harney
Kelly Harris
Kristianna Harris
Marlon Henriquez
Kayla Herman
Jill Hess
Cole Hocker
Kyle Irland
Lonn Iwashita
Dietrich Jessen
Phillip Johnson
Bailey Kampa
Aime Karam
Christopher Kempf
Cody Kliethermes
Logan Kochendorfer
Meagan Koepnick
Mickenzie Kruse
Renee Labat
Brandon Lafferty
Anna Lampe
Jennifer LeDoux
Nathaniel Lee
Mary Lieberman
Melissa Lockwood
Elizabeth Logsden
McKinzy Lohberger
Katherine Manning
Nicolle Martin
Connor Mattison
Cole Melby
Michaleen Melby
Chloe Meyer
Tanya Meyer
Derek Mueller
Bailey Mulholland
Zanele Muronzie
Van Anh Nguyen
Travis Nietert
Benjamin Nordquist
Caitlin Nowosatka
Britta Nyberg
Evan Obert
Jessica O'Brien
James Odegaard
Sam Olson
Hannah Parker
Jayne Pearson
Victoria Peters
Lydia Petersen
David Pfotenhauer
Mavis Phiri
Shelby Pofahl
Ellen Pritchard
Cole Puffer
Maia Pugh
Scott Raftshol
Arthur Ramirez
Ryan Readinger
Megan Richason
Sophia Ristau
Matthew Rosene
Sarah Ruehle
Samantha (Barron) Russell
Kaia Sand
Amber Schnittjer
Emily (Stoneking) Seiler
Emily Sena
Andrew Sharot
Joseph Simonelli
Rachel Skinner
Jennie Solverson
Evan Sowder
Martin Stalberger
Robert Starr
Emily Stumpf
Allison (Kephart) Tjossem
Emily Tope
Mullen Wacker
Kolin Walker
Calvin Waller
Samuel Ward
Aaron Weckwerth
Samuel Weinberg
Kaila Will
Jonathan Williams
Rachel Williams
Andrew Withers
Isabelle (Krogh) Withers
Blake Wragge
David Zalk
Chrisann Zuerner

Every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of this list. If an error has been made, please accept our apology and contact the Luther Development Office at 800-225-8664, or email [email protected].