Class of 2005 Spring 2017 Letter

Spring 2017

Hello, Luther College Class of 2005!

We hope that this spring is finding you well. Do the warming winds remind you of spring at Luther: the muddy library lawn after a storm, opening day at the Whippy Dip, or sunny hikes at Dunning’s Spring? And now, when you go back to Decorah, you can add, ‘sitting on a world class brewery’s patio’ on your list of springtime things-to-do! (Decorah has two breweries now; world-class Toppling Goliath and also Pulpit Rock.) Or, just hit up Seed Savers for some spring gardening.

As you probably know, the Luther community had to say goodbye to our beloved Weston Noble (Class of 1943) this winter. He died at the age of 94, after dedicating 57 years to teaching music at Luther, including directing many of you in Nordic Choir. Weston Noble had this to say about Luther: “Luther College is the best, and only, place I can imagine being. I was led to this place by my father years ago, and I was kept here by God.” Everyone is invited to attend a celebration of his life at Luther at 1 p.m. on Saturday, May 13 in the CFL. The service will also be live-streamed at  

The Admissions Office knows that we alumni play an important role in recruiting new students to Luther. This summer, the Admissions Office will be rolling out a new book voucher program for prospective students. Stay tuned for details! (You can always call the Admissions Office with questions, 563-387-1287.)

As always, thank you if you’ve contributed financially to Luther, either through #luthergives17, the Annual Fund, or any other way. If you haven’t given to Luther recently, please consider! Make giving to Luther a habit. You can even sign up for monthly giving, which requires hardly any of your brain-space or time: If challenges are your gig, then know that any of us who make gifts at any level for three or more consecutive years become part of Luther’s Loyalty Society.  

Thanks for reading! Thanks for remembering Luther. And happy spring. Soli Deo Gloria and Go Norse!

Sarah (Rouse) Clark and Brian Clark,           Jon Trullinger

[email protected]                             [email protected]
[email protected]


Keith Becker of Williamsburg, Iowa, is the manager of University of Iowa Employment Services.

Libby (Nussdorfer) Chmielewski teaches at Middleton Plains Area Schools in Cross Plains, Wis.

John Drilling of Cresco, Iowa, is an electrical apprentice at Interstates Companies.

Nicole (Warnke) and Kevin Fultz live in Winona, Minn. Nicole is a clinical manager at Gundersen Health System in La Crosse, Wis. Kevin is a web developer at Fastenal.

Mike Gucwa is senior manager for field operations at Premium Retail Services in Ogden, Utah.

Kate Ingber is a recruiting specialist at Ucare in Minneapolis.

Katie (Knutson) Jacques earned a master of education degree from Hamline University. She teaches third-grade dual language for the Richfield (Minn.) Public Schools.

Ashley (Sauke) Kincaid is an executive staff assistant at People’s Energy Cooperative in Oronoco, Minn.

Elise (Bieri) Patzke is supervisor of cellular and molecular immunology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn.

Becca Tumm of Minneapolis is project manager for U.S. Programs (disaster response) at International Orthodox Christian Charities.


ELISE CHESLEY and Ben Hasche, July 30, 2016
KIRSTEN RUSSELL and Parker Koester, Aug. 16, 2016


TAYLOR (SPILDE) '13 and MATT AMUNDSON welcomed a son, Cason, in April 2016.

THERESA (DAMRATOWSKI) and MIKE GUCWA welcomed a son, Gabriel Michael, in December 2015. Gabriel joins sister Annaliese.

Taylor and SCOTT MEYER welcomed a daughter, Ingrid Juel Mertz, in July 2015.

Laree and RUSSELL SCHOUWEILER welcomed a son, Declan Patrick, in May 2016.

Kaeleigh and JON TRULLINGER welcomed a daughter, Mary Lane, in May 2016. Mary joins brothers Connor and Gibson and sister Leighton.

The Annual Fund – make your gift today:
Your gift. Put to work, right away, where it is needed most.

Last year more than 10,000 alumni, family, and friends supported Luther’s Annual Fund with gifts from $5 to $100,000. Your gift makes a difference for each and every student at Luther, and we are grateful for your support.


This list includes all gifts received January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2016. Making a gift each and every year is an investment in the lives of Luther students and a show of support for the Luther College community. Thank you for your support of Luther College through your giving.

Gayan Agalawatte
Joy (Stuber) Alsop
Laura (Riehman) Alvarez
Matthew Amundson
Kendal (Maxa) Andrews
Kathryn Armstrong
Gabrielle Atwood
Christy (Patchin) Barker
Nicholas Berge
Lindsay Bernhagen
Christanna Braga
Keli (Offerman) Brown
Alison Buck
Matthew Burns
Jeromy Carlson
Rebecca (Weaver) Carlson
Stacie Castelda
Brian Clark
Megan Clark
Sarah (Rouse) Clark
Jeffrey Clements
Kalyn Cody
John Drilling
Brit (Johnson) Eisele
Michael Eisele
Ana (Meyer) Eliason
Sarah (Gibson) Elliott
Angela (Miller) Ellis
Erin (Radke) Flaherty
Michael Flaherty
Stephanie (Bohmer) Fretham
Jacqueline (Denison) Getchius
Thomas Getchius
Katherine (Meixell) Giambelluca
Kelly (Gierlus) Giddens
Susanne Graf
Helen (Griese) Handley
Adrian Hanson
Melissa (Howie) Hanson
Elise (Chesley) Hasche
Neil Heller
Katherine Hewitt
Timothy Holcomb
Linnea (Mueller) Huinker
Katherine (Knutson) Jacques
John Jaeger
Stephanie (Schmidt) Johnson
Cami Jones
Julia (Todd) Jones
Anna Kabe
Lindsay Kimball
Ashley (Sauke) Kincaid
Ryan Knight
Kyle Knutson
Kirsten (Russell) Koester
Katherine Lamb
Erin (Belcher) Larson
Ryan LeBeau
Nicholas Leslein
Erik Lowe
Jennifer (Have) Lowe
Sarah (Gissel) Lundquist
Timothy Lundquist
Thomas Mack
Stephanie (Wherry) Malin
Lauren Mayfield
Catherine McCormick-Deaton
John McCormick-Deaton
Anna McDowell
Marcia McKelvey
Stephanie Mock
Joshua Moe
Stephanie Mueller
Brenda (Riha) Mueterthies
Ryan Nilsestuen
Erik Olson
Maureen Orsborn
Bradley Paulsrud
Anna (Osterbur) Petersen
Melissa (Garbrecht) Pieper
Greta (Bernatz) Poser
Sharon (Bangsund) Powell
Darci Pratt
Jarrod Quinlivan
Hillary (Foster) Ramaker
Dustin Ross
Katie (Gorans) Ross
Lindsey (Rislow) Ruhland
Bethany Schiefelbein
Danielle Schmidt
Kyla (Schulenberg) Schoenwetter
Russell Schouweiler
Sarah (Laposky) Schwegel
Bethany Seedorff
Cara Stone
Lauren (Schletty) Thurmer
Anna Timmerman
Jacob Torgerson
Megan (Minnihan) Torkelson
Rebecca Tumm
Mischa Tursich
Julie Van Scoy
Rachael Vaubel
Michelle Weber
Katie (Pettigrew) Weems
Muhammad Yasir Burney
Molly (Ness) Youssef
David Zelinskas

Every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of this list. If an error has been made, please accept our apology and contact the Luther Development Office at 800-225-8664, or email [email protected].