Class of 2000 Spring 2017 Letter

Spring 2017

Dear Classmates:

Spring is just around the corner! The days are getting longer; the snow has melted; and we anxiously await renewed life of Mother Nature. I fondly remember the return of spring at Luther. That first warm day when nearly the entire student body could be found sprawled out on the library lawn. The invigorating Frisbee games or that time when your professor took class outside to enjoy the warmth of spring. The promise of spring brings new beginnings in so many ways.

Look back to your senior year in high school, the winter/spring of 1996. Most of us, by then, had applied and been accepted to Luther College. We were excited with the promise of new beginnings, new life, and adventures. Too fast, those promises turned into reality and now, great memories. My favorite memories were the ones created on choir tours, rehearsals, concerts, and time spent with dear friends. What are some of your favorite Luther memories? I would love to hear about your most memorable moments at Luther and then share them with our class. What a great way for all of us to stay connected!

Wishing you all a delightful spring!

Yours truly,

Andrew Haase                              Jenn (Potter) Walker
[email protected]            [email protected]


Monday, September 26, 2016, marked the inaugural iColin Classic, a fundraising event for the foundation set up to honor Colin Y. Farbotko. Colin was a distinguished athlete, talented musician, accomplished web designer, devoted husband, brother, and son, and was loved by all who knew him. He passed away in 2012 after battling ALS and is sorely missed. The iColin Classic event was created by friends Kevin and Kim Frantz, Pete Schonebaum, Timothy Baardseth, and wife Marney Olson to be a space for friends and admirers to gather! 87 golfers enjoyed the course at Brackett’s Crossing in Lakeville, Minn., and were joined by nearly 30 more for the banquet dinner in the evening to remember his wit, his humor, and the uniquely epic way he lived his life. More than 36 companies and friends sponsored the event, led by the top sponsor, Thrivent Financial. More than 65 additional groups made donations as well, and the event all together raised more than $27,000 for the 501c3 group, the iColin Classic. The board members wish to thank all who participated in honoring Colin, and they will be distributing the funds to two groups: the ALS Association to assist those currently living with ALS and to establish the Colin Y. Farbotko Scholarship at their joint alma mater, Luther College. Join us for next year’s epic event to be held September 25, 2017, to fully fund Colin’s legacy scholarship and continue to aid families through the ALS Association. Look to for details... “something’s brewing”!

Ben Johnson is a financial consultant for Stonebridge Group at Thrivent Financial in Bloomington, Minn.

Nicole (Ryerson) Lemke is the first-time homebuyer program manager for the Appleton (Wis.) Housing Authority.


LUKAS HOFFLAND and Marie Kadlec, Oct. 28, 2016


Liz and BEN JOHNSON welcomed a daughter, Annika Rae, in September 2016. Annika joins brother Landon and sister Avery.

JOLENE (SCHIPP) '02 and NATE THOMPSON welcomed a daughter, Isla Jeannette, in July 2016. Isla joins brother Preston.

The Annual Fund – make your gift today:
Your gift. Put to work, right away, where it is needed most.

Last year more than 10,000 alumni, family, and friends supported Luther’s Annual Fund with gifts from $5 to $100,000. Your gift makes a difference for each and every student at Luther, and we are grateful for your support.

This list includes all gifts received January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2016. Making a gift each and every year is an investment in the lives of Luther students and a show of support for the Luther College community. Thank you for your support of Luther College through your giving.

Eugene Adams
Katherine (Oppert) Arling
Timothy Baardseth
Karla (Lenzen) Bach
Kelli (Punt) Bacon
Jeremy Boyum
Jennifer Braden Dunne
Norah Bringer
Adam Bumpus
Mindy (Lensing) Bunn
Amy Burgus
Alyson (Ebenhoh) Carroll
Ben Carroll
Matthew Chadwick
James Cox
Sarah (Edwards) Davis
Katherine (Reinsmoen) Dettmann
Jeffrey Diener
Angela Doss
Catherine (Brunner) Ellingson
Katrin (Aarestad) Fergus
Patrick Fergus
Catherine (Carlson) Ford
Kevin Frantz
Kimberly (Turner) Frantz
Jeffrey Freidhof
Melissa (Morrissey) Gilkerson
Nathan Gilkerson
Sara (Donhowe) Goldberg
Katherine Goodwin
Kathryn Green
Todd Gullickson
Jennifer (Cords) Hatlevig
John Hatlevig
Darcy Hendriks
Sarah (Reisinger) Hester
Jill (Jefferson) Hobart
Stephen Hobart
Christopher Hoden
Lukas Hoffland
Briana (Elfstrom) Holland
Mindra (Freeman) Hudak
Steven Hudak
Sarah (Norquist) Irwin
Timothy Jacobsen
David Jensen
Benjamin Johnson
Jesica (Sexton) Johnston
Heidi (Hingeveld) Jung
Kevin Kampfe
Kate (Brothen) Keiper
Benjamin Keseley
Lesley (Dressen) Kochel
Jonathan Kopplin
David Kruse
Eric Lahaie
Amanda (Newman) Larsen
Peter Larsen
Brian Larson
Eli Larson
Jill (Cooper) Larson
Rebecca (Mensing) LeGrant
Jennifer (Mann) Leiberg
Shaun Lindquist
Michelle (Feldmann) Lutz
Thomas Lutz
Sheilah Lynch
Bronwyn (Howard) McCarty
Jaimee McPadden
Maria Miller-Rinaldi
Travis Morehead
David Muth
Angela (Spartz) O'Keefe
Amanda (Hoffmann) Peterson
Joy (Halverson) Peterson
Rebecca (Hayward) Peterson
Jennifer (Tesmer) Pickett
Valerie (Recker) Radner
Jon Rask
Joseph Rinaldi
Jan (Schnell) Rippentrop
Brent Ryan
Elisabeth (Marvin) Sandersfeld
Neal Sawyer
Peter Schonebaum
Brian Schult
Daniel Schumacher
Jason Sinnwell
C. Marcus Sjowall
Heide (Jackson) Sletteland
David Smith
Kelly Smith
Andrew Steffensmeier
Cassidy (Johnson) Steiner
Jason Steward
Jennifer (Shaw) Steward
Jason Stonerook
Rachel (Grippen) Storlie
Megan Stull
Daniel Taylor
Kara (Schwarze) Taylor
Aaron Thiese
Nathan Thompson
Jaime (Rowe) Titus
Carrie Tresemer
Scott Vial
Karen (Knutson) Wain
David Wake
Jennifer (Potter) Walker
Cristin (Grant) Waterbury
Kenneth Wheeler
Megan (Helling) Wildemuth
Jackie Willey
Jennifer (Gilbert) Wolbrecht
Sara (Nicolaison) Yotter
Miranda Zahn

Every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of this list. If an error has been made, please accept our apology and contact the Luther Development Office at 800-225-8664, or email [email protected].