Class of 1998 Spring 2017 Letter

Spring 2017                                

Dear Members of the Class of 1998,

Greetings from Luther and happy spring semester! As we write to you today in late March, Luther students are enjoying the last few days of spring break. Earlier this month, the Development Office participated in Luther’s second annual Giving Day on March 9, which proved to be a fun day of sharing Luther love all over social media and raising money for the Annual Fund. More than $500,000 was raised that day; thank you to all who made gifts!

You probably heard the news about our beloved Weston Noble ’43, who died Dec. 21, 2016.  A celebration of his life will be held on campus at 1 p.m. Saturday, May 13, at the Center for Faith and Life, Main Hall.  More details about Weston’s life can be found in the Winter 2017 issue of the Luther Alumni Magazine and on Luther’s website.

While we’re on the subject of music, it was announced in January that Andrew Last ’97, assistant professor of music and conductor of Collegiate Chorale and Norsemen, has been appointed to the post of Nordic Choir conductor and director of choral activities at Luther. He will begin his new duties at the beginning of the 2017 fall semester.

You can read more about Andrew Last on Luther’s website, and you can find lots more as well, including students’ J-term course blogs and other course blogs, Alumni Office travel tours and events, links to alumni profiles, comparisons and rankings, life after Luther, etc. It’s easy to find web content that interests you at by clicking the search button next to the “info for” drop-down box at the top right of the page. Type in the word “news,” click on the search button, and you’ll get all of the Luther news, for your reading pleasure.

Attached to this letter is the list of all who made gifts to Luther in calendar year 2016. Thank you for your generosity! Did you know you can sign up for monthly giving to Luther? It’s a great way to ensure a gift is made each year. Those who make a gift at any level for three or more consecutive years become members of Luther’s Loyalty Society. Visit for more details. Regular giving to Luther is a great habit to cultivate!

Do you have memories of past Luther experiences you’d like to share? We’re sure our classmates would enjoy reading about them; send us your stories!

We’ll write again in the fall,

Joel Zylstra                 and           Doug Ross
[email protected]               [email protected]


Beth Bjorlo is director of marketing operations at Ingersoll Rand in Davidson, N.C.

Amy (Hammel) Clark is community engagement leader for Thrivent Financial in Schaumburg, Ill.

Jana Evelsizer Olson is associate attorney at Anderson, Wilmarth, Van Der Maaten, Belay, Fretheim, Gipp and Zahasky in Decorah. She also owns Olson Tax Consulting, LLC.

Aaron Sheehan is a visiting voice teacher at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio.


JANA (EVELSIZER) and John Evelsizer Olson welcomed a daughter, Kaya, in September 2011. Kaya joins brothers David and Andrew.

The Annual Fund – make your gift today:
Your gift. Put to work, right away, where it is needed most.

Last year more than 10,000 alumni, family, and friends supported Luther’s Annual Fund with gifts from $5 to $100,000. Your gift makes a difference for each and every student at Luther, and we are grateful for your support.

This list includes all gifts received January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2016. Making a gift each and every year is an investment in the lives of Luther students and a show of support for the Luther College community. Thank you for your support of Luther College through your giving.

Nikki Aden
Todd Ancelet
Sonja (Josephson) Beyerlein
Jill (Kossman) Bickett
J. Beth Bjorlo
Abigail (Ostby) Bracke
Christopher Bracke
Heidi (Mccorkle) Braksiek
Tracy (Weiss) Brett
Matthew Brown
Brenda Buikema
Stephanie Burdt
Anthony Butitta
Christopher Cannon
Bridget (Thompson) Carter
Kari (Rabe) Chaffee
Amy (Hammel) Clark
Michelle (Lahti) Colbert
Adam Cole
Lisa (Walline) Coy
Leah (Sankey) Crane
Abigail (West) Cureton
Megan (Shelstad) Dahl
Sarah (Beatty) Dahl
Kristin Dahling
Daniel Davis
Kevin Deeny
Justin Dettmann
Gregory Douma
Jennell (Pribyl) Duey
Stephen Ellingson
Jessica Ellis
Nathan Ersig
Jessica (Olsen) Etten
Heather (Vaule) Evans
Jason Evans
Michael Feldmann
Rachel (Rossing) Feldmann
Ann (Yunker) Fieberg
Stephanie (Spear) Filigno
Jennifer Follstad-Popp
Adam Forsyth
Heidi (Kleinheksel) Fuchs
Joseph Grimstad
Trent Habiger
Arika (Anderson) Hage
Sheri (Osborne) Hansen
Nicole (Voss) Hawkinson
Alison (Hatch) Heltemes
Jill Hockemeyer
Chad Holmquist
Aaron Holtebeck
Philip Hood
Brian Johnson
Michael Jung
Catherine Kelly
Jennifer Kennell
Brian Kinnan
Peter Kowitz
Tanya Kruse Ruck
Scott Kunce
Jason Lage
Ryan Lamberg
Kelly (Tikkanen) Lang
Alison (Malloch) LeCloux
Patrick Lensing
David Lieberman
Sarah (Kipling) Lightner
Trevor Loes
Jessica (Puhrman) Mann
Kyra (Rusch) McCool
Scott McGregor
Jenny (Herrlich) McRoberts
Matt McRoberts
Brittany (Leisinger) Metzig
Heather (Erickson) Meyer
Amy (Cheney) Miller
Mitchell Myre
Douglas Nalean-Carlson
Stacey Nalean-Carlson
Mark Nehring
Beth Nunnink
Molly (Wagner) Nyholm
Kjellrun (Bye) Olson
Kirsten (Olson) O'Quinn
Brandy (Meinecke) Peterson
Jason Rausch
Sarah (Hopp) Reiland
Matthew Reinsmoen
Allison Rekow
April (Johnson) Remfrey
Brian Remfrey
William Richardson
Douglas Ross
Megan (Knutsen) Rowekamp
Jeffrey Rundell
Aaron Sande
Malinda (Durkee) Saucedo
Emily Schildt
Corey Schmidt
Bobbye (Roberts) Schubert
Jody (Daubendiek) Schulte
Paul Schulte
Lisa (Johnson) Shaw
Aaron Sheehan
Amanda (Gralapp) Sill
Dustin Smith
Sarah (Pohlson) Smith
Heidi Snell-Anderson
Emily (Watts) Sundet
Matthew Tills
Thatcher Vagts
Angela (Peckham) Van Grinsven
Emily (Foster) Velnosky
Katherine (Milos) Vetter
Jarrad Walter
Lara (Walter) West
Jennifer (Erwin) White
Molly Youngstrom Hagkull
Joel Zylstra

Every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of this list. If an error has been made, please accept our apology and contact the Luther Development Office at 800-225-8664, or email [email protected].