Young Alumni Award

The Young Alumni Award recognizes outstanding achievement of Luther alumni in their vocation or avocation who have graduated in the last 15 years.

Criteria include early significant professional achievement, demonstrated leadership abilities, and distinctive service to Luther or society-at-large. These persons should have lives that exemplify the college mission statement.

Award nominations are received by the Alumni Office and the recipients are selected by the Alumni Council. The award is given at Commencement in the spring of each year. Nomination Deadline for Commencement 2023 is November 1, 2022.

Past recipients include:

2019 Cynthia Kamikazi '05

2018 Houda Abadi '03

2017 Scott Meyer '05 and John Meyer '08

2016 Dan Christenson '02

2015 Charles Leonard '00

2014 Eli Williamson '02

2013 Chingwell Mutombu '00

2012 Tory Hegrenes '01

2011 Elizabeth Grice '01

2010 Josh White '97

2009 George Kun '01

2008 Eric R. Cutler '99

2007 Amy Parker Fiebelkorn '97

2006 Sarah Lynn Tofte '99

2005 Heather Schacht Reisinger '96

2004 David M. Poetker '93

All nominations are confidential and award winners are selected by the Alumni Council. Nominees will only be notified only if they have been selected to receive the award.

Letters of nomination may be mailed to: Kirk Johnson, Associate Director of Alumni Relations, Luther College Alumni Office, 700 College Drive, Decorah, IA  52101 or email: [email protected]

Fax#: 563.387.2195

Or you may complete the online Young Alumni Award Nomination Form.