Reunion of Champions

The Oneota Valley at Dusk

Save the date

Reunion of Champions: Luther College Track and Field 1957-1986

Dear Norse Track and Field Team Members:

From 1957 to 1986 Luther College Men’s Track and Field teams won an unprecedented 26 Iowa Conference Championships over 30 seasons.

Next summer from July 12-13, 2019, Luther College will host a reunion for all the men who participated in this streak of winning seasons. We hope you will join us in Decorah, Iowa for two days of fun, remembrance, and celebration of your days as Norse Track and Field Champions.

We will meet Friday night July 12, at T-Bocks upstairs for a Mabe’s pizza party. Saturday will include optional tours of the athletic facilities, a run/walk event, or casual bike ride on the Trout Run Trail, in the morning, and opportunities to explore Decorah in the afternoon on your own. On Saturday evening we will have an outdoor barbecue picnic. More specific details and costs for the weekend events will be sent later.

Get ahold of your friends and teammates and make your plans now to include a trip to Decorah next summer.  Spouses/significant others are welcome. Below is a link to lodging in Decorah. Make your reservation early. Decorah fills up on summer weekends!

There is a block of rooms at a special rate reserved for "Luther Track and Field" at the new Fairfield Inn by Marriott, 563-382-8800.

We will also have some on campus residence hall housing available in Baker Village.

If neither of these options work for you, there are other lodging options in Decorah as well.

Organizing Committee:

Head Track and Field Coach Stephen Fleagle
Associate Professor Emeritus Bob Naslund ‘65
Assistant Track and Field Coach Kirk Neubauer ‘76
Assistant Professor Emeritus Jeff Wettach ‘79
Development Officer Paul Mullen ‘79
Development Officer Doug Nelson ‘82
Associate Director of Alumni Relations Kirk Johnson ‘82
Associate Athletic Director Alex Smith ‘03
Assistant Athletic Director for Development Russell Schouweiler ‘05

Head Coaches during this era:

1953-58         Edsel Schweizer
1959-63         Kent Finanger ‘54
1964               Armin Pipho ‘60
1965-66         Kent Finanger ‘54
1967               Gary Embretson ‘59
1968-79         Bob Naslund ‘65
1980-86         Kirk Neubauer ‘76