Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

The Goldwater Scholarship is selected based on academic merit in mathematics, science, computer disciplines, and engineering. 

One- and two-year scholarships are awarded to cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board, with a maximum of $7,500 per year. 

Goldwater Scholars have very impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs.  

Sophomores and juniors are eligible to apply. Luther's nomination is required. If interested, contact the Office of the Provost for more information on applying.

The national application deadline is the last Friday in January. Luther's internal deadline for receipt of application materials is two weeks prior to that date.

For more information, please visit

Recent Luther College Goldwater Scholarship winners:

2017 Kevin Honz

2013: Alexander Greiner

2007: Jennifer Lambrecht

2005: Elizabeth Matzen

2004: Rachael Vaubel

2003: Carissa Thomas

2002: Janelle Kime, Alex Martinson

2001:  William Hoyer, Kate Cooper