Shopping Shuttle

The shopping shuttle runs 2-3 times per month, and will take students downtown and to Wal-mart at no charge to complete their monthly shopping needs. The shuttle will first take students downtown and make a stop.  It will then proceed to Wal-mart and drop off the remaining students. The driver will wait for roughly an hour, leave with Wal-mart shoppers then stop downtown again and pick up the downtown shoppers. The shuttle then returns to campus.

In order for students to give a choice of buying local and in other places, we are offering shuttles to the south of town. The possible centers for shopping are Quillins (for groceries), Goodwill, TrueValue (for hardware and miscellaneous items), Great Dragon Restaurant and much more. The shuttle will be specified when it goes to these places rather than Wal-mart.

Meet in the Student Organizational Suite 10 minutes prior to departure.   Please register in advance using the online form. 

Again, seating is limited so reserving a seat via the online sign-up is encouraged (see below). Walk-ins will be accepted provided seats are still available.

Click here to view the shuttle schedule in a Norse Calendar. You can easily add this calendar to your Norse Calendar by clicking "+ Google Calendar" in the bottom right-hand corner after following this link.

A printable version of the 2014-2015 shopping shuttle schedule can be found here.

History of the Project 

An Environmental Philosophy class group project, with operation coordinated by Sustainability, has led to the establishment of the Decorah Shopping Shuttle for Luther College students. Initially concerned with the amount of driving done by individuals to different shopping establishment on any given weekend, the shuttle will also provide a service to individuals who choose not to have a car while attending Luther.

The Decorah Shopping Shuttle was started in September 2010. 

Date Time Leaving
Saturday, Sept. 6, 2014 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014 7:30 PM
Saturday, Sept. 27, 2014 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2014 7:30 PM
Saturday, Oct. 18, 2014 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014 7:30 PM
Saturday, Nov. 19, 2014 7:30 PM
Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014 11:00 AM
Saturday, Dec. 6, 2014 11:00 AM
Friday, Dec. 19, 2014 11:00 AM
Friday, Dec. 26, 2014 11:00 AM
Tuesday, Dec. 30, 2014 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jan. 10, 2015 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jan. 17, 2015 11:00 AM
Saturday, Jan. 24, 2015 11:00 AM
Thursday, Jan. 29, 2015 11:00 AM
Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015 7:30 PM
Saturday, Feb. 28, 2015 11:00 AM
Saturday, Mar. 14, 2015 11:00 AM
Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2015 11:00 AM
Saturday, Mar. 28, 2015 11:00 AM
Friday, April 3, 2015 11:00 AM
Saturday, April 11, 2015 11:00 AM
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 7:30 PM
Saturday, May 2, 2015 11:00 AM
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 7:30 PM

 The trend of shuttle usage is shown below:

 

Shopping aisle
The Shopping Shuttle schedule for the 2014-15 school year.