Luther Team - Clare Slagel Earn CSCAA Scholar All-American Awards

The Luther College women’s swimming and diving team has earned Scholar All-American honors for the spring semester from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA).

The Team Scholar All-American award includes a team’s complete roster and is presented to college and university teams who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher. The award is presented twice a year, the first following the fall semester and the second following the spring semester.

The Luther women had a cumulative spring semester grade-point-average of 3.59 that ranked fifth of the 135 teams that earned this award in the NCAA III. With this honor, the women have been recognized for the 11th year in a row.

It was also announced that Clare Slagel earned the CSCAA Scholar All-American First Team award. This award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers, who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and qualified for and competed at their respective national championship. The award is presented in the semester of the NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships (Winter/Spring).

Slagel, who qualified for the NCAA III National Swimming & Diving Championships in both the 100 and 200 backstrokes, earned All-America honors in both events placing fourth and third respectively at the national finale.

Earning Honorable Mention Scholar All-American Award honors were Norse swimmers Lexi Scharmer and Katherine Blocker and diver Zoe Johnson. This award is achieved by having a grade point average of 3.5 or higher, for the semester or cumulative average, and posting a “B” time standard, but have not qualified to compete in their respective national championship. Divers qualify by competing at their respective championship qualifying meets. 

Complete list of CSCAA Scholar All-American Teams and Individuals


First Year

Minnestrista, Minn.

Holy Family Catholic



Waukon, Iowa



First Year

Dubuque, Iowa



First Year

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

John F. Kennedy