Complete Sports Schedule

Back to event listings

UW-La Crosse Dual

From site: Cross Country (men)

Date:October 24, 2014
Time:5:00 pm

Luther and UW-La Crosse faced each other for the 57th time in a dual meet format. Since 1955 these two teams have raced each every year except 1957 and 1977. In 1988, the race was a triangular as Augustana-Rock Island joined the party. The first year, the two teams raced each other twice.

For the first time in history of what is perhaps the longest running dual in the nation, UWL and Luther finished in a tie (28-28). La Crosse was awarded the victory due to a new tie breaking rule as established by the NCAA.

According to the NCAA rule book, ties in team scoring shall be broken by comparing the place finish of the five scoring members of the tied teams. The team with the majority of winning places shall be awarded the higher place.

Since UWL's  No. 1 runner placed ahead of Luther's No. 1; UWL's No. 2 placed ahead of Luther's No. 2; and UWL's No. 3 placed ahead of Luther's No. 3, the Eagles won the tie breaker.

The top place winner on the four mile course was Joseph Hinz of UWL with a time of 21:21.2. Luther's Parker Beard was second clocked at 21:33.9.

Completing Luther's top seven included Matt Rosene (21:52.1), Erik Duethman (21:53.7), Patrick Finnegan (21:54.2), Travis Houle (21:54.7), Kurt Hellmann (21:58) and Luke Lumbar (22:07.4).

Complete Results

The Iowa Conference Championship are next for the Norse. The league will be traveling to Simpson College on Nov. 1. The men's race will begin at 11:00 a.m.

Contact: David Blanchard, 563-387-1586