Academic Calendar

Luther operates on a 4-1-4 academic calendar. First semester runs from September to December, followed by a three-week January Term. Second semester runs from February to May. In the liberal arts tradition of broad inquiry, students often use J-term to study abroad, perform internships in their field, or study one topic intensely while on campus.

Two four-week summer sessions are also offered at Luther, one in June and another in July.

2016-17 Academic Calendar

If you have questions concerning dates on this calendar, please contact the Luther College Registrar’s Office at (563) 387-1167 or registrar@luther.edu

Fall Semester 2016

Monday, August 22 – 26
Orientation of new international students
Thursday, August 25 – 26
Faculty days
Saturday, August 27
First-year students arrive
Saturday, August 27 – 30
Orientation of new students
Sunday, August 28 – 30
Returning students arrive
Wednesday, August 31
Fall semester classes begin
Friday, September 9
Last day to add full semester classes and due date of incomplete grades from previous semester
Friday, September 16 - 18
Family Weekend
Tuesday, September 27
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, September 30 - October 2
Homecoming
Thursday, October 13
End of first half of semester
Friday, October 14 - 18
Fall vacation
Friday, October 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester classes with "W"
Tuesday, November 22
Senior projects due by 5 p.m.
Wednesday, November 23 – 27
Thanksgiving vacation
Thursday, December 1 – 4
Christmas at Luther
Friday, December 9
Last day of classes
Saturday, December 10
Reading day
Monday, December 12 – 15
Final examinations

January Term 2017

Tuesday, January 3
Classes begin
Thursday, January 26
End of term

Spring Semester 2017

Wednesday, February 1
Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 10
Last day to add full semester classes and due date of incomplete grades from previous semester
Tuesday, February 28
Last day to withdraw from full semester class without record
Friday, March 17
End of first half of semester
Saturday, March 18 – 26
Spring Vacation
Tuesday, April 4
Last day to withdraw from full semester class with"W"
Friday, April 14 - 17
Easter Vacation
Wednesday, April 26
Senior projects due by 5 p.m.
Friday, May 5
Student Research Symposium
Tuesday, May 9
Senior recognition convocation
Friday, May 12
Last day of classes
Saturday, May 13
Reading day
Monday, May 15 – May 18
Final examinations
Sunday, May 21
Commencement

Summer 2017

Tuesday, May 30
Summer session I begins
TBD
New student registration
Friday, June 23
Summer session I ends
Monday, June 26
Summer session II begins
Friday, July 21
Summer session II ends